This PSU Good with 2900Pro? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2007, 01:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
Default This PSU Good with 2900Pro?

Hello, is this PSU good enough with the 2900Pro? b1gapl recommended this but I had read someones review of the 2900Pro and it said that it needed a PSU of 550W minimum. Just wanted to ask before I buy my parts. Thanks.

ClubIT Product - CORSAIR HX CMPSU-520HX 520W Active PFC NVIDIA SLI Certified Modular ATX Power Supply Retail


If not, could you please recommend me a PSU?
__________________

j.PRIME is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 01:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: This PSU Good with 2900Pro?

I am sure you will be fine with that!
__________________

Deadpixel is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 01:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: This PSU Good with 2900Pro?

Agreed. I wouldn't have recommended it, if it wasn't good. As we said countless times before, that the power is not the amount of wattage a power supply has, but how many amps are in it's +12v rails. That Corsair 520HX has 54A, and that's enough for two 8800Ultras in SLI.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 01:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: This PSU Good with 2900Pro?

It should do fine. Wattage means nothing. Amps mean more.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 01:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: This PSU Good with 2900Pro?

I wish companies all rated their power supplies in RMS wattage or something.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 02:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: This PSU Good with 2900Pro?

ya, i'm not understanding why people think you need such extravagant psu's to power high end systems... such as the rumors of needing uuber high psu's for the 2900xt.. i think at full load on a standard system i guess you say only consumes about 400 watts.. give or take a few watts... going crossfire should only add another 130 watts or sometihng of that area.... 600watts should power pretty much any system there is today.. unless your running like 15 hard drives.. 10 cd's ... etc.
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 02:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: This PSU Good with 2900Pro?

yea you only need around 500 watt psu for 1 2900XT, 750 watt, not 1000 for crossfire.
darksideleader is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 02:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: This PSU Good with 2900Pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by darksideleader View Post
yea you only need around 500 watt psu for 1 2900XT, 750 watt, not 1000 for crossfire.
ya.. stil dont need a 750watt for crossfire.. lol, a full load 2900xt is only about 130 watts, or something of that general area.... and a fully equiped system (1 hard drive, e6600, cd drive, 3 fans or something of the area and the 2900xt) only runs at about 400 watts.. adding in another 130 watts for crossfire is only 530 watts at full load.... got plenty of headroom if ur just picking up a 650 watt psu
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 02:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Gears of War King
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Under a rock...
Posts: 770
Send a message via AIM to MaV II DARK II
Default Re: This PSU Good with 2900Pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by darksideleader View Post
yea you only need around 500 watt psu for 1 2900XT, 750 watt, not 1000 for crossfire.
Iam sure the corsair 620hx can take on crossfire...
MaV II DARK II is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 02:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: This PSU Good with 2900Pro?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaV II DARK II View Post
Iam sure the corsair 620hx can take on crossfire...
Of course it can.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need PSU Suggestions lee42lee System Upgrades 1 10-05-2007 04:16 PM
PSU Grenaded...Getting a new one... bmxfreakrider New Systems | Building and Buying 4 09-25-2007 12:18 AM
Good, somewhat inexpensive laptop with good Linux support C_olin Laptops and Notebooks 1 09-10-2007 02:45 PM
A good fan controller? MildTweeker Overclocking and Modding 11 09-04-2007 06:27 AM
Good games for 7900gs krazyq PC Gaming 14 08-04-2007 11:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.