PSU to fit HD4870? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-01-2013, 12:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 13
Default PSU to fit HD4870?

Hello,

I recently purchased a Radeon HD4870 and unfortunately have discovered that I only have a 6 pin plug which doesn't fit the HD4870. It requires a 12 pin. Does anyone know of a connector I could use or a cheapish power supply with the appropriate plugs for this? Thanks!
__________________

Paddymofoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 12:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: PSU to fit HD4870?

It's just two 6-pin adpaters, not a single 12. You only have 1 6-pin on the PSU?
__________________

__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 01:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: PSU to fit HD4870?

How many watts is your PSU, brand, model?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 04:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 13
Default Re: PSU to fit HD4870?

Hiper 580w HPU-4M580 SLi Certified ATX2.2 PSU is what I currently have. Trying to spend as little as possible on this so even ebay or anything works for me here tbh.
Paddymofoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 06:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 13
Default Re: PSU to fit HD4870?

Would the following PSU be suitable?

NEW STORM SILENT 800W POWER SUPPLY 12V RAIL 32AMP, 2x6-PIN PCI-E 120MM FAN | eBay
Paddymofoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 07:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 13
Default Re: PSU to fit HD4870?

Or http://www.amazon.co.uk/EZCool-PS-05...=2+x+6pin+PCIE ??
Paddymofoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 01:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: PSU to fit HD4870?

Your current PSU is actually fine. According to Google you should have a 2 way molex to 6pin that came with your PSU in the box. That plus the one that is built in will provide enough power off what you already have, as the other two that you linked are technically worse.

If you insist on buying a new PSU, the cheapest I could recommend is a Corsair CX500.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 04:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 13
Default Re: PSU to fit HD4870?

Hmm I don't have them anymore, the boxes etc that is. Could you link one of these connectors and I could just do that instead? :S I can't seem to find any. I can find 2x4 molex to 6 pin pcie.
Paddymofoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 04:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: PSU to fit HD4870?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paddymofoz View Post
Hmm I don't have them anymore, the boxes etc that is. Could you link one of these connectors and I could just do that instead? :S I can't seem to find any. I can find 2x4 molex to 6 pin pcie.
That's exactly what it is.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 04:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
steve10765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 635
Default Re: PSU to fit HD4870?

It took me a little while to find it
Here it is
__________________

__________________
Intel i5 4640 - XFX R9 280
Corsair Vengeance 8GB - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB Seasonic 620W PSU
steve10765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.