Is this PSU enough? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-07-2006, 12:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default Is this PSU enough?

Hello all, quick question regarding power supply. I have a nice 550 watt Antec on order but I won't have it till the end of next week. I currently have a 450 watt Rosewill, and I'd like to know if you think this PSU will handle my new 7900GT until the Antec arrives. I'm itching to do some gaming System is in the sig, but I'll relist here.

Amd X2 3800
1GB Corsair XMS Ram
250GB WD Sata 2 HDD
Sound Blaster Audigy 2ZS
Lite-on DVDRW
And, the 7900GT

I did run a 7800GS with this PSU on my previous P4 3.2e and the same hardware and it seemed fine. It was a friends video card and he let me check it out.

Sorry, I know this is probably a ridiculous question since I'll have a solid PSU in 7 more days, but I'm running this old 5700LE and, well, that's all I'll say =0

Hope to get a thumbs up!
__________________

__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 12:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

i think the min on a 7900 is like 400 wats isnt it?
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 01:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

Yes, that is what it says on the Evga site. It just seems from reading alot of posts here that certain PSU's even if they say they have the right wattage may not be up to the task. Not sure where Rosewill stands on their 450watt :/ I guess I could just give it a shot and hope nothing bursts into flame or anything. hehe

(Edit: The 450 Watt PSU was not enough for the 7900GT superclocked. In order to get my PC to boot I needed to disconnect my DVDRW. 7900GT superclocked asks for 450w and a min of 500w for SLI, be sure to just have a decent 500w or better if you plan to run one.)
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.