PSU enough? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-25-2009, 12:46 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: PSU enough?

It should be ok on a 750TX. Ive worked it out before, because i might be upgrading to either the 750TX or the 850TX with two GTX285s. It should have enough, but if you want a bit more juice go with something a bit bigger - 1000W is a bit overkill though.
__________________

__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 04-25-2009, 01:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 201
Default Re: PSU enough?

Will an 850 over 750 be of any use to me? Several have said 750 will be enough, what are the advantages?
__________________

insane84722 is offline  
Old 04-25-2009, 01:49 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: PSU enough?

More wattage. Ya don't need it.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 04-25-2009, 02:49 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: PSU enough?

There aren't necessarily 'advantages'. Its not like your rig will run faster with a bigger power supply. More power just allows more room for you to put more components in. The 750w will power everything you have though and unless you're planning on adding a third 285 (which would be pretty pointless unless you have a 30" monitor) then you don't need the 850w
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 04-26-2009, 01:16 AM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: PSU enough?

It does allow more room for overclocking though. i7 chips can consume 50 more power when overclocked to 4GHz from the stock 2.67, it just leaves more headroom thats all.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 04-26-2009, 07:30 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 201
Default Re: PSU enough?

I do run 3 22' at 5040x1050 with TH2G and 1 gtx 285 does a very good job maxing most games at that resolution. Seeing as how 1 card is that good, I think dual sli will be enough for me, besides, adding a 3rd would block the pci slot for my sound card.

You said running an i7 at 4ghz uses more power, of course, but still within the range of the 750 with 2 video cards? Thanks for all the help.
insane84722 is offline  
Old 04-26-2009, 08:24 AM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: PSU enough?

Quote:
Originally Posted by insane84722 View Post
I do run 3 22' at 5040x1050 with TH2G and 1 gtx 285 does a very good job maxing most games at that resolution. Seeing as how 1 card is that good, I think dual sli will be enough for me, besides, adding a 3rd would block the pci slot for my sound card.

You said running an i7 at 4ghz uses more power, of course, but still within the range of the 750 with 2 video cards? Thanks for all the help.
Yes i would think it would be enough.

And yeh 2x285s will be more than enough for that res. My setup maxes out everything with at least 2xAA on a 27" screen...
__________________

__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading my PSU TekBubs New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-14-2009 07:32 PM
PSU Problem/Cooling Problem Like2game New Systems | Building and Buying 11 01-05-2009 08:46 PM
how to diagnose blown psu, or, undiagnose it. drewjustforyou System Upgrades 9 01-04-2009 07:03 PM
PSU Trouble! Flipip Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-24-2008 04:19 PM
Question regarding mini ITX and recommended PSU 96300NAZ New Systems | Building and Buying 0 12-16-2007 10:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.