PSU enough? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2008, 08:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 245
Default PSU enough?

Ok I just want to see if my psu will be able to handle this in the near future...

q6600 at 3.7ghz, 1.40 vid
gtx280(SLI later)
4gb ddr2 800
single pump water cooling set up
3-7200rpm HD's
4- 120mm led fans
maybe 2 cold cathodes

all this running off a 950watt rosewill
Im only worried about the sli gtx280's when I get the 2nd one
If this won't work more than likely can anyone recommend a good psu that should push tri gtx280's later on. PSU's and the amps on the 12v rail confuse the **** out of me! Thanks for any help!
__________________

__________________
MB-EVGA 780i FTW
CPU-Q6600@3.6
Cooling- Custom Water cooling from petras
Ram- 1gbx4 Crucial Tracers ddr2 800
GPU- XFX GTX280 SLI
PSU- Rosewill 950 watt
Monitor- Dell 24"
Case- Thermaltake armor series


I fold for my sister and the cure. What do you fold for?
http://folding.stanford.edu/English/Download
Dainius is offline  
Old 07-08-2008, 08:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: PSU enough?

yes, its enough.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 07-08-2008, 09:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 245
Default Re: PSU enough?

alright ty!
__________________
MB-EVGA 780i FTW
CPU-Q6600@3.6
Cooling- Custom Water cooling from petras
Ram- 1gbx4 Crucial Tracers ddr2 800
GPU- XFX GTX280 SLI
PSU- Rosewill 950 watt
Monitor- Dell 24"
Case- Thermaltake armor series


I fold for my sister and the cure. What do you fold for?
http://folding.stanford.edu/English/Download
Dainius is offline  
Old 07-08-2008, 11:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: PSU enough?

yeah should be fine, not sure about a third gtx tho...
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 07-08-2008, 11:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: PSU enough?

Its fine..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PSU like acting like a vehicle... Chrysamere Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 07-01-2008 02:27 AM
malfunctioning psu harry0591 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-04-2008 08:43 PM
PSU Trouble! Flipip Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-24-2008 04:19 PM
Question regarding mini ITX and recommended PSU 96300NAZ New Systems | Building and Buying 0 12-16-2007 10:29 PM
In Depth PSU Guide: Please Read. Oreo New Systems | Building and Buying 18 10-13-2007 11:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.