PSU calculator? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2007, 10:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 267
Default PSU calculator?

Anyon have a link to a good upto date PSU calculator? I foudn a few online but they seem pretty outdated.

I did the best I could with it and it came up with about 420w, that seemed a little low but I don't know.
__________________

Mr. LL is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 10:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: PSU calculator?

PSU calculators don't always work. Tell us the parts and we can gives you the wattage.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 10:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: PSU calculator?

I tend to doubt the accuracy of those PSU calculators...
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 11:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 267
Default Re: PSU calculator?

I see, I am still hashing out the parts. I will check back once I get everything squared away. Thanks.
Mr. LL is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 11:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: PSU calculator?

There are no completely accurate PSU Calculators. Do as peter suggested..
Most tend to over estimate, they assume you will buy a cheap power supply..
Ste is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 11:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: PSU calculator?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
There are no completely accurate PSU Calculators. Do as peter suggested..
Most tend to over estimate, they assume you will buy a cheap power supply..
I have a question... maybe you can answer...

Let's say you have a 12v rail with 50 amps on it.

If you're running an 8800GT, what does it 'use up'?

Does it use up the amps?

I thought a Watt = Volt x Amp. So if the 12v rail supplies a constant 12v, wouldn't the consumption be in the amps?

To me... it just seems like watts is a really poor way to measure the power consumption of computer components.
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 11-27-2007, 12:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: PSU calculator?

Yes it does use up some of the amps on the rail. To determine how many just find out how many volts the card uses total and divide that by 12. For example the 8800GT I believe takes somewhere around 115-120 watts on the 12V rail therefore taking around 10A alone at full load.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 11-27-2007, 12:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: PSU calculator?

Why do they call it the 12V rail if it can supply 115-120 volts?
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 11-27-2007, 12:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: PSU calculator?

I don't know i'm not the one who named it....they probably just mean it's the rail that supplies the power to the things that use 12v amps.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 11-27-2007, 12:18 AM   #10 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: PSU calculator?

12v amps?

I didn't know there were 12v amps. I thought volts and amps were entirely different...
__________________

aetherh4cker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upside-Down PSU Crazydog115 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 04-14-2008 12:57 PM
Need psu and low end vid card for build Shafra System Upgrades 7 10-15-2007 12:16 AM
In Depth PSU Guide: Please Read. Oreo New Systems | Building and Buying 18 10-13-2007 11:54 AM
changing psu from power mac robina_80 Apple and Mac 1 09-28-2007 03:54 AM
Graphing calculator? carnageX Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 18 09-05-2007 09:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.