PSU Cable Adaptor Question. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-19-2008, 01:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default PSU Cable Adaptor Question.

I'm going to be updating my GPU's, With two new 9800 GX2's, Replaying my old 8800 GTX KO's. However unlike my 8800 GTX's that just take dual 6 pins, Which my psu has. It needs a 6 Pin & a 8 pin. Something my TT 850 psu doesn't have.

I've been searching for a adaptor with a 6 pin to 8 pin converter. However the only one I can find on Newegg is this. Click Here.

I don't really like the idea of using two 8 pins off just one 6 pin.

Thoughts?

Thanks.
__________________

augest is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 01:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: PSU Cable Adaptor Question.

The extra pins are grounding wires therefore that adapter will do fine providing your psu has a strong enough 12v rail
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 02:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default Re: PSU Cable Adaptor Question.

Thanks.

But is it a wise idea to hook both them GX2's, Off just one 6 pin connector? Should I buy two of these and connect them to one 6 pin off my psu each and just use one of the 8 pins?

Just wondering, Even though on its own 12V rail, If just one of these 6 pins connecting to two 8 pin's split on them GX2's will be enough?
augest is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 07:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: PSU Cable Adaptor Question.

providing your psu is good enough yes its fine
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 07:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default Re: PSU Cable Adaptor Question.

Alright then. I shall try it. Yes, It's good enough, I have a TT ToughPower 850W.
augest is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 03:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: PSU Cable Adaptor Question.

quad sli sucks DO NOT BUY THOSE CARDS, unless you already have...

i hope ur psu has a good Amp rating because adapters put a bit more pressure on your psu.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 10:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default Re: PSU Cable Adaptor Question.

Yep done bought. I didn't wanna go from my sli 8800 GTX's to just a single card. An I believe my psu has 62 amps. I believe anyway.
augest is offline  
Old 10-21-2008, 03:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: PSU Cable Adaptor Question.

heya,

Been a little while now just wondering if your happy with this and educate us all whether this is a viable option??? In theory it is but I have never had personal experience so am curious.....
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 07:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: PSU Cable Adaptor Question.

alot of reviews point towards quad sli as not having any performance increase in alot of games, and a couple of times even worse than one card. can you backup this with some benchmarks, or maybe prove this wrong.
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A patch cable with 2 switched wires is the only way a connection can be made... ?? Jayce Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 07-12-2008 05:28 PM
Australia to get a new submarine cable Harper SEO and Web Traffic 4 04-14-2008 10:30 AM
PSU Cable Extensions Blitersety Overclocking and Modding 7 01-12-2008 10:17 PM
Will my HD work with this cable? Herringtrader Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-01-2007 01:32 PM
answer me this.. LAN cable DOESNT WORK with certain PCs. clever_j Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 05-26-2007 01:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.