PSU to big? uhh ohh... 1st build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2015, 05:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Zimmerman
Posts: 56
Default PSU to big? uhh ohh... 1st build

Purchased a Corsair HX750 PSU.
Background:
1. 1st build.
2. 3 mos. ago minimal computer knowledge. Went from learning what wi-fi and Bluetooth is ---> challenging myself to do a build.
3.. Will be basic home PC. Mainly file ( pic and home video storage ), with possible gaming. Nothing crazy....?

What I have so far:
i7 4790k
gigabyte Z97X gaming 3 mobo
Noctua NH-D14 fan/heat sink
Crucial Ballistix ( sport) 16gb RAM - 2 x 8gb sticks
Corsair AX 750 PSU
LG Blu-Ray internal optical drive w/ burner and BDXL
Samsung 500gb 850 PRO SSD
Internal card reader (don't laugh)
Corsair 760T case

What I still need to get:
HDD - for file storage
Another larger External HD
OS _ Leaning towards Win 7. We have 8.1 -HATE it!!!
Will more then likely upgrading my exhaust fan
Would like to add an additional fan on top or underneath HDD or HDD cooler case/fan
GPU- Want to run 3 monitors. Nothing crazy like 4k or too insanely expensive. Mainly because we have lots of windows open ( online ) @ a time.
___________________________
I posted my specs. and needs in a prev. post and got a lot of comments that my PSU is an overkill unless I am doing gaming with a serious GPU. I do intend to purchase a nice GPU. I probally wont need it, but its nice to know I will have a powerful GPU in case I ever need it down the road.
Is there anything wrong with having this PSU that has more power then I need? Will it affect the performance of my machine if this is more then I need?
If the answer is yes. By adding a GPU will that help accommodate the power that is left?
I did purchase this big PSU because I thought it would be ncie to know I have the extra power if I need it in the future? Wrong mentality? Should I return?
__________________

frldyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 05:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: PSU to big? uhh ohh... 1st build

Well, is it the HX or AX?

Not using a PSUs potential just kills efficiency. That's it. And is a waste of money.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 05:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Zimmerman
Posts: 56
Default Re: PSU to big? uhh ohh... 1st build

HX
frldyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 05:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: PSU to big? uhh ohh... 1st build

Not that big of a deal.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 03:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: PSU to big? uhh ohh... 1st build

Umm OP you say it's for a basic home PC, yet you're picking a GAMING motherboard, and a processor that's pretty high end (we're talking video editing, youtubers etc), an SSD (that's ok) and 16 GB of RAM? That's just insane for a home pc. Your part list just doesn't match your usage man.
__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 12:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: PSU to big? uhh ohh... 1st build

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke127 View Post
Umm OP you say it's for a basic home PC, yet you're picking a GAMING motherboard, and a processor that's pretty high end (we're talking video editing, youtubers etc), an SSD (that's ok) and 16 GB of RAM? That's just insane for a home pc. Your part list just doesn't match your usage man.
We've already been over that in one of the other thread the OP created.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Deciding which OS to use, ohh the pressure bear85 Microsoft Windows and Software 7 06-02-2006 07:36 PM
Uhh ... vcore? Brtnboarder495 Overclocking and Modding 12 04-27-2006 06:38 AM
uhh...hmmm.... sum1nowhere Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 20 11-20-2005 06:18 PM
Uhh is this PSU working properly? Ginkotsu System Upgrades 5 11-08-2005 06:52 AM
Ohh sweet victory... GameGURU PC Gaming 13 08-26-2005 12:02 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.