PSU for 5850 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2010, 05:02 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 158
Default Re: PSU for 5850

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muffin Man View Post
yea, that msi mobo supports cpus with a max tdp of 125w.

i see that it supports the pii x4 965 c3 stepping, which is the 125w version, but it does not support the c2 stepping, which is the 140w version.
What are the cheapest motherboards that support 140w cpus and has 2 pcie 2.0 x16 slots? Can you name a couple?
__________________

michaelvvmm is offline  
Old 04-06-2010, 06:42 PM   #12 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: PSU for 5850

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelvvmm View Post
What are the cheapest motherboards that support 140w cpus and has 2 pcie 2.0 x16 slots? Can you name a couple?
if you want to know if a certain mobo supports them or not, you can look at the manufacturer's spec page.

this is the cheapest one i came across
Newegg.com - ASRock M3A770DE AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
__________________

Muffin Man is offline  
Old 04-06-2010, 08:35 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 158
Default

I dont know what to do, should I get the msi board which is this:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130265
it only supports 125w cpus and has two PCI-E 2.0 x16 slots or the asrock board which is this:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157180 the one of the two PCI-E slots is x4 but it supports 140w cpus. Which one should I get?

I also only have ddr2 ram so I cant get a ddr3 board
michaelvvmm is offline  
Old 04-06-2010, 09:18 PM   #14 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: PSU for 5850

oh, i forgot to ask in my previous post, why do you want a mobo with support for 140w tdp cpus?

your x3 720 has a tdp of 95w and the only other current amd cpu (i think... i'm almost completely sure) that has a tdp of 140w is the c2 stepping x4 965, but amd has already released a c3 stepping x4 965 with a tdp of 125w which costs almost the same.

also, even if you were to use two 5870s in crossfire, there would not be a huge difference in performance from running cards in crossfire at x16/x16 vs x8/x8.
ATI HD 5870 Scaling Performance: X58 vs P55 Showdown - AnandTech :: Your Source for Hardware Analysis and News

but, if you still want a mobo with those req's, this is probably the cheapest one you'll find (on newegg anyway)
Newegg.com - DFI LANParty DK 790FXB-M3H5 AM3 AMD 790FX ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 04-06-2010, 09:38 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 158
Default Re: PSU for 5850

I was going to get a phenom II 940 and overclock it a lot so would I need to get a 140 w motherboard to overclock a 125w cpu?(if I overvolt it)
michaelvvmm is offline  
Old 04-06-2010, 09:46 PM   #16 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: PSU for 5850

I have personally cleaned the thread. Lets keep it on helping this person get the right PSU. Enough bickering already.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-06-2010, 09:55 PM   #17 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: PSU for 5850

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelvvmm View Post
I was going to get a phenom II 940 and overclock it a lot so would I need to get a 140 w motherboard to overclock a 125w cpu?(if I overvolt it)
definitely wouldn't hurt. When you are building a pc your motherboard is not a place where you want to cut corners. When a mobo fails it could take out everything plugged into it.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 04-06-2010, 09:59 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: PSU for 5850

I'd try and aim for a 955 C3 stepping if you are getting a quad
The advantage of it is it can be used in socket AM3, and C3 stepping chips also overclock better.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphics Performance List Baez New Systems | Building and Buying 539 05-22-2015 08:31 PM
*READ FIRST* Updated Power supply guide Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 37 04-11-2012 03:50 AM
*READ FIRST* Updated Power supply guide Ste System Upgrades 2 12-12-2009 09:30 PM
Heat/ Airflow/ PSU Pezzy Overclocking and Modding 7 11-26-2009 10:45 AM
PSU Problem/Cooling Problem Like2game New Systems | Building and Buying 11 01-05-2009 08:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.