PSU -550w - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-27-2006, 08:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 449
Send a message via ICQ to madking153
Default PSU -550w

hi, i looking for a 550w PSU - How can i know it support PCI-E and AMD x2 ? or all power suppy can do it ?
__________________

madking153 is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 09:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 143
Default

Basically all newer power supplies support both of those.

I'd recommend the Antec TP2.0 550W.. powerful, reliable, etc.
__________________

Khann is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 09:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Almost all new power supplies can handle PCI-E and AMD X2. Heres a suggestion that is mostly recommended:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103931
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 05:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 449
Send a message via ICQ to madking153
Default

is 450W enough to handle load below?:

Asus M2n32 Deluxe
xfx 7600gt xxx
2gb ram
2 x dvd burner
1 x HD
x2 3800+ am2

thanks
madking153 is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 05:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

if its got enough amps.. then yes, yes it will
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 06:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 143
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by b1gapl
Almost all new power supplies can handle PCI-E and AMD X2. Heres a suggestion that is mostly recommended:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103931
Way to say basically exactly what I said, lol.
Khann is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 10:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

lol you beat me by a couple of secs...
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 10:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

IMO, tons of other power supplies work just as well(if not better)... And are cheaper :\
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 11:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Khann
Basically all newer power supplies support both of those.

I'd recommend the Antec TP2.0 550W.. powerful, reliable, etc.
I've got 2 of them and they are great. Next gen. videocards might need something more, but right now they are great for any, non-sli PC.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 11:43 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

When power supplies say P4 or Athlon 64 or X2 ready, it doesn't mean theres something specialy done to it to make it work. In fact they only put it on the box to make them sell when in reality any power supply will work with any setup so long as it has the proper P1 connection (20 pin/20+4/24 Pin connection) The proper wattage, the proper connections such as PCIE Connectors and SATA Connectors if you don't have the adapters for said components.

deathawk: Sure, Cheap is great if you don't want the following.
Reliability
Future upgradability
Preformence
Im pretty sure you will replace a cheap PSU a **** more often then you will replace any quality Power supply.
But its not my money so buy what you want.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.