PSU. 12v rails - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-04-2009, 07:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default PSU. 12v rails

Howdy, I'm trying to get a nice PSU for a good price. My ultra x-finity 500watt has lasted about 2 years with 0 problems and I got it for liek 50 bucks. My max I really want to spend is like 70 before tax and MIRs.

I have picked out this,
Newegg.com - OCZ StealthXStream OCZ600SXS 600W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies

But it was like 4 12v rails. The amperage is fine, but it's spread amongst 4 12v rails. Now i've read that this is better, and I've read that this is worse.

I read that you had to do load management or something liek that, and this being my first build I really don't want to have to mess with that. I want to keep it as simple as possible.

So, will that PSU be fine, or should I get something with 1 12v rail?
__________________

Thresh25 is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 08:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: PSU. 12v rails

1 12v rail is the best. I can't remember the exact reasons right now because I'm really tired but 1 solid 12v rail is the way to go. Corsair is really good and PC power & Cooling is the best. You don't have to do any load management or anything
__________________

__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 09:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: PSU. 12v rails

All right, I won't go with that one then cuz 4 seems like quite a bit.

This is less watts, but only two 12v rails,

Newegg.com - Computer Hardware,Power Supplies,Power Supplies,OCZ Technology, Inc.,.

Would this be enough, and would this be better for my needs?
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 10:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: PSU. 12v rails

What are the specs of your system?
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 11:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: PSU. 12v rails

I will be getting...

mobo
Newegg.com - BIOSTAR TForce TP45HP LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

cpu
Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Duo E7400 Wolfdale 2.8GHz 3MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

then 4 gigs of ram, sata hdd, dvd burner, and probably an hd4850, 9800gtx+, or maybe even 4870 haven't decided on the card
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 11:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: PSU. 12v rails

I would get this one Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-450VX 450W ATX12V V2.2 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Power Supplies
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 11:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: PSU. 12v rails

I had seen that one, but will that really be enough watts? I know amps are more important but that seems a little low
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 11:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: PSU. 12v rails

It will be perfectly fine. Your system is fairly basic. You don't have a really beefy GPU, and your cpu is pretty minimal. You only have one HDD and one optical. Thats a great PSU.
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 03-05-2009, 01:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: PSU. 12v rails

One problem with that PSU. It only has 1 pci-e connector. just about all cards now a days require two.
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 03-05-2009, 01:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: PSU. 12v rails

nothing wrong with multi railed psu's.

Mine has four 12v rails is is extremely stable.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best graphics card for a 400W, +12V 18 amp PSU jmoussa87 System Upgrades 14 09-30-2008 02:32 AM
In Depth PSU Guide: Please Read. Oreo New Systems | Building and Buying 18 10-13-2007 11:54 AM
12v Rails... Wah? commandercup New Systems | Building and Buying 10 10-03-2007 02:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.