Prototype 80-core chip... - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2007, 11:21 AM   #31 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: Prototype 80-core chip...

1.5 kilowatts. pfft please... ill stick with my e4300. you can all spend your precious time and money, and have die over your electric bill :/
__________________

__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 07:44 PM   #32 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: Prototype 80-core chip...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
depends on the motherboard. This CPU will obviously have one specially made for it.
Yes. Should still be very hot. Considering the energy is not converted into motion.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 11:26 PM   #33 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Prototype 80-core chip...

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMajor View Post
Yes. Should still be very hot. Considering the energy is not converted into motion.
so, they'll need to make a good cooling system for it
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 11:34 PM   #34 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default Re: Prototype 80-core chip...

They should make a mobo that comes enclosed in a case that holds coolant, but with cut-outs for all the connections. Like the cooking oil pc, only way more compact and only for the mobo.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
My friends keeps telling me AMD X2 is faster than Core 2 pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 0 05-23-2007 11:49 PM
My C2D processor only showing one Core!! Please Help!! Nour Ershaid Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 05-08-2007 01:11 PM
Core 2 Duo Extremes odd..... veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-30-2007 03:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.