Proformance increase from AMD Athlon Xp 2600 to Intel Pentium 4 D 2.8 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-22-2005, 05:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Question Proformance increase from AMD Athlon Xp 2600 to Intel Pentium 4 D 2.8

Last night i won the door prize of an Intel Pentium 4 D 2.8 CPU.
Now the question I have is what am i going to do with it?

My current specs are :-
AMD ATHLON XP 2600 , 2x 512Mb @ FSB 400 Ram, APG GeForce FX5700 256Mb (Full Detailed Specs are here
Now orginally I was planning on upgrading this after chinese new year 2007.
Like my computer usage is gaming, and most of the time I am playing MMORPGs and the occasional FPS. So far the only FPS that died on me as been F.E.A.R. And HL2 Lost Coast was very playable.

Now if I move over to
Intel Pentium 4 D 2.8 CPU, 2x 512Mb @ DDR2 667, I face the problem with having to replace most of my existing tech. Like the video card I will be going for will be NVIDIA GeForce 6200 chipset. I would like some thing more, but it really comes down to money.

So the questions is this, how much perfromance increase am I going to expect from changing from AMD ATHLON XP 2600 , 2x 512Mb @ FSB 400 Ram, APG GeForce FX5700 256Mb to Intel Pentium 4 D 2.8 CPU, 2x 512Mb @ DDR2 667, NVIDIA GeForce 6200?
And will it be worth my while? Or should I just sell of my Intel Pentium 4 D 2.8 CPU and continuing kicking my current PC around for another year?
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 06:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Depends what you do with your computer, currently clock for clock the 2600+ should perform approxiamately the same as the Pentium in current single threaded applications...with the Pentium D gaining a significant edge in memory bandwidth as well as larger cache

However, once you throw in a multithreaded enviroment (eg autocad, photoshop, video editing, MY SQL server etc.) the Pentium will clearly take the lead as it is basically two 2.8GHz processors with larger cache and memory bandwidth versus one slower 2.6GHz equivelent

Games should perform almost identical on both, with the PD again taking an edge with load times due to memory bandwidth

That's a sweet deal for a door prize though
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 06:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

Don't forget, you have four virtual processors ready to do w/e you throw at it.
septoid2 is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 06:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

You won't be playing F.E.A.R and hl2 with a 6200.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 07:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

I would build on the P-D. Overall it is a MUCH more powerful system than your XP system. Get a nice HSF on that CPU and you should be able to get 3.4Ghz-3.6Ghz out of it quite easily.

Of course a better gfx card would be nice. You got the comp for free, you can throw out a couple hunny for a 6800GS
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 08:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
However, once you throw in a multithreaded enviroment (eg autocad, photoshop, video editing, MY SQL server etc.) the Pentium will clearly take the lead as it is basically two 2.8GHz processors with larger cache and memory bandwidth versus one slower 2.6GHz equivelent.
The problem is that I don't do that sort of stuff.
Like I do a bit of DVD Authoring, but I have all ready set a second computer (WAKE UP NEO...) for that anyways. And ever since i got my Media Centre working, I really don't do that much any more.

About the only time that I feel that i would take advantage of Dual Core at this stage is when I am backing up DVDs at the same time as playing computer games.

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
That's a sweet deal for a door prize though
Oh yeah. You should see the Microsoft T-shirt I won on monday.

Quote:
Originally posted by 003
You won't be playing F.E.A.R and hl2 with a 6200.
Not going to be able to afford anything better right now. I was hinting the chirstmas gift idea of PC parts to my parents this year, but don't think that worked last night. And after the **** they have done for me this year, I am not going to bug them.

Quote:
Originally posted by idiotec
You got the comp for free, you can throw out a couple hunny for a 6800GS
I got the CPU for free. I still need the motherboard, processor, ram and video card.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 08:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
I got the CPU for free. I still need the motherboard, processor, ram and video card.
Oh, ****, I misread this thing from the beginning, I thought you got a whole system
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 08:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

A Dual Core by itself is a pretty nice deal. If you can afford to build a system around it, it'd turn out to be a pretty nice PC. And if you overclock you could easily get 3.2GHz out of it which would essentially result in a Athlon 64 X2 3800+ (probably better, because of HT).

If not, either save up until you can (I believe you have a job) or sell it on EBay.

The performance increase will be there. Not TOO much in games, but it WILL be better than your current processor even in games. Again, not by TOO much.
Flanker is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 08:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flanker
If not, either save up until you can (I believe you have a job) or sell it on EBay.
Saving up is not the problem. It just that I have all ready invested enough money into my current PC. And since my current tech is socket A, I am not going to be getting a good price on selling it off second hand. I rather run my current tech into the ground and get my value for money of the PC, as appose to trying to selling it off 2nd and getting gipted on the price.

Quote:
Originally posted by idiotec
Oh, ****, I misread this thing from the beginning, I thought you got a whole system
If it was a whole system, I would not be having this problem in the first place.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 09:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Did you sell your soul to the spam monsters for this prize?
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.