Professional "Adobe Creative Suite 5.5 Set Up" Needs parts suggestion - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2011, 05:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default Professional "Adobe Creative Suite 5.5 Set Up" Needs parts suggestion

Hi. My friend wants to build an i7 or Xeon rig for Adobe Creative Suite 5.5 Premium for professional set up.
He was going to buy Mac to use Final Cut Pro but he said the new version is a full of garbage (not good enough for professional use).
So he is moving on to PC w/Adobe set up.
He has an external eSATA hot swappable Drive bay.
He has 2 x monitors, keyboard and mouse. So he needs everything else.
He does edit feature film. So it really has to be good at rendering.
He was going to buy a Mac which cost about $4000.
So anything less than that would be great. (around $3000 or less preferred.)
I build PC but mainly for gaming so my knowledge is limited for video rendering set up.... like what kind of video cards are great for video rendering, etc...
Any suggestion of parts are appreciated!

He is getting Quadro 5000. But not sure which MB is good for this set up...
Any good Workstation/server board?
__________________

__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 07-12-2011, 06:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: Professional "Adobe Creative Suite 5.5 Set Up" Needs parts suggestion

He should get a i7 socket 1366 hex core cpu or 2 quad core
ssd for the program and os.
2-4 hard drive for maybe raid 0 for the video data, more he has the higher the failure rate so gotta take caution.
12-24GB of ram
quadro graphics

I don't really know the specific parts but that's a general idea of what should be included.
__________________

brinks is offline  
Old 07-12-2011, 06:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default Re: Professional "Adobe Creative Suite 5.5 Set Up" Needs parts suggestion

Quote:
Originally Posted by brinks View Post
He should get a i7 socket 1366 hex core cpu or 2 quad core
ssd for the program and os.
2-4 hard drive for maybe raid 0 for the video data, more he has the higher the failure rate so gotta take caution.
12-24GB of ram
quadro graphics

I don't really know the specific parts but that's a general idea of what should be included.
Great, Thanks for the input.
Intel Core i7-970 Gulftown 3.2GHz 12MB L3 Cache Six-Core is what you are talking about right?
That's 1366 hex core.
Also what is the good MB for that? If you know any....
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 07-12-2011, 06:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: Professional "Adobe Creative Suite 5.5 Set Up" Needs parts suggestion

Yeah, the i7-970 is what I was thinking. You could go with the xeon cpu, but they are more expensive.
brinks is offline  
Old 07-12-2011, 07:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default Re: Professional "Adobe Creative Suite 5.5 Set Up" Needs parts suggestion

So I guess Intel Core i7-970 Gulftown 3.2GHz 12MB L3 Cache Six-Core, and PNY VCQ5000-PB Quadro 5000 2.5GB 320-bit GDDR5 are the choice parts so far.
So I need MB, RAM, SSD(for OS and the adobe app) and I guess the case...
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 07-12-2011, 08:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default Re: Professional "Adobe Creative Suite 5.5 Set Up" Needs parts suggestion

I've come up with those parts so far.... It is around $3000. Just need a case but how does it look?

Intel Core i7-970 Gulftown 3.2GHz LGA 1366 130W Six-Core Desktop Processor BX80613I7970

PNY VCQ5000-PB Quadro 5000 2.5GB 320-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready Workstation Video Card

Intel BOXDX58SO2 LGA 1366 Intel X58 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Kingston HyperX Blu 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 Desktop Memory Model KHX1333C9D3B1K2/8G x3=24GB

PC Power and Cooling Silencer Mk II 950W High Performance 80PLUS Silver SLI CrossFire ready Power Supply

Intel 320 Series SSDSA2CW120G310 2.5" 120GB SATA II MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) - OEM

Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit - OEM
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 07-12-2011, 08:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: Professional "Adobe Creative Suite 5.5 Set Up" Needs parts suggestion

I would go with an OCZ Vertex 3...they're the best imo..
__________________
Asus P5Q Motherboard * OC'ed Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.82ghz w/ Arctic Silver 5 * OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066ghz * Kingston Hyper X (2x2gb) DDR2 1066ghz * EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked * Ultra X-Blaster ATX Mid-Tower * OCZ Vertex 2 120gb * WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 rpm * OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU * Sony Optaric DVD Burner * Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit * 22" LG Flatron W2252TQ LCD * LG Flatron E2281

Samsung Series 7 17.3" Laptop w/ 256gb Vertex 4 SSD
Night Fox is offline  
Old 07-12-2011, 08:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default Re: Professional "Adobe Creative Suite 5.5 Set Up" Needs parts suggestion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Night Fox View Post
I would go with an OCZ Vertex 3...they're the best imo..
Is everything else OK?
Parts I'm not 100% sure is the MB and PSU...
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 07-12-2011, 10:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,668
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Professional "Adobe Creative Suite 5.5 Set Up" Needs parts suggestion

Change the ram to something faster, 1600Mhz, and make it triple channel not dual. Definitely go with the Vertex 3 over the Intel 320.

edit: this ram Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9T-12GBRL

If you want a different PSU, this one is good too and a bit cheaper: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817182188

Mobo looks ok, never liked Intel though (scarred through setting up Intel servers at work, you can't just stick the windows cd in and boot). Alternative would be this
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813188066
but it's got no rear eSATA ports.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 07-12-2011, 10:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default Re: Professional "Adobe Creative Suite 5.5 Set Up" Needs parts suggestion

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
Change the ram to something faster, 1600Mhz, and make it triple channel not dual. Definitely go with the Vertex 3 over the Intel 320.

edit: this ram Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9T-12GBRL



If you want a different PSU, this one is good too and a bit cheaper: Newegg.com - Rosewill BRONZE Series RBR1000-M 1000W Continuous@40C, 80Plus Bronze Certified,Modular Cable Design,ATX12V v2.3/ EPS12V,SLI Ready,CrossFire Ready,Active PFC"Compatible with Core i7, i5" Power Supply

Mobo looks ok, never liked Intel though (scarred through setting up Intel servers at work, you can't just stick the windows cd in and boot). Alternative would be this
Newegg.com - EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR LGA 1366 Intel X58 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
but it's got no rear eSATA ports.
great. Thanks a lot for the info.
I'll pass those information to my friend.
__________________

__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Request help on my COMPUTER BUILD for video editing in Adobe Creative Suite 5 (CS5) Joesmyle New Systems | Building and Buying 0 01-28-2011 07:07 PM
"Av security suite" virus removal Deathslayer101 Viruses, Spyware and Malware 1 07-28-2010 06:37 AM
Cant enable "Creative X-Fi" sound on Battlefield2142 jonny_uk PC Gaming 14 01-11-2007 09:00 PM
Adobe Atmosphere "convert to surface" crashes dl77002 Web Graphics and Design 0 04-28-2006 05:20 PM
Adobe Press Adobe Creative Suite 2 Classroom in a Book Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 02-11-2006 11:17 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.