Processor upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2007, 11:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Processor upgrade

I just bought the opteron 165 and later found out it doesnt suppoet my mobo so I was ggetting only one core to work.
Im about to upgrade it today and i need to know which one to get. I might overclock if i can get a new mobo since mine is locked by emachines.

Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Toledo 2.0GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor - OEM

Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Toledo 2.2GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor - OEM

If i get the 3800 i can get a new mobo and oc it too.
But if im not going to oc i can get 4200.
And on new egg they dont include a heatsink and fan...so can i use the one i got with my emachines or not, if not can you suggest me into one thats not too expensive.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 11:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Processor upgrade

Why not just get a new motherboard, for your Opteron 165?

As for the CPU cooler, I would suggest the Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro 64.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 11:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Processor upgrade

What mobo should i get?
I dont have that much money thats why if i got the 3800 it will be cheaper and ill have some extra cash for a mobo.
Out of the opty 165
3800 and
4200
which one is the best before oc.

I ill buy a mobo later on once i get enough money.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 12:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Processor upgrade

The Opty 165 is better.

Heres a suggestion for the motherboard:
Newegg.com - ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce SPP 100 ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
or
Newegg.com - BIOSTAR TForce4SLI Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 12:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Processor upgrade

i dont have money for that.
I think i might just get the 3800 and then buy a mobo later and oc it.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 12:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Processor upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
The Opty 165 is better.
Depends. The Opteron 165 has 2x1MB L2 cache, but is only 1.8GHZ stock

the 3800+ has 2x512kb L2 cache, but is 2.0GHZ stock
the 4200+ has 2x512kb L2 cache, but is 2.2GHZ stock

I don't think he's overclocking it
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 12:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Processor upgrade

...but can't you just overclock the Opty 165?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 12:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Processor upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
...but can't you just overclock the Opty 165?
You can, but I don't think he's overclocking it. He asked which is better at stock.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 12:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Processor upgrade

Oh I see...if I were him, I would just keep the Opty 165, and save up for a motherboard, that can overclock it. Or sell his Opty 165, motherboard, and RAM...to get an AM2 motherboard like the Biostar TForce 550, with a X2 3600+, a gig of DDR2 RAM, and overclock.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 01:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Processor upgrade

i just bought the opty lik 3 days ago. So im guessing i can just return it. I just bought more ram lik almost a month ago. I dont really have that much cash in hand. Infact barely.

Im just trying to go dual core now, i might build a new pc some time next year and ill prolly go vista , get a DX10 card, and a core2duo or quad. But for now im trying to stay simple.

Does 2.0 ghz and 2.2 make a big diff or barely? I do have a 3400+ and im hoping i do notice an increase in performance. gaming and applications.
And how much diff is the cache..like 1MB from a 1X2mb...how do they come into effect anyways?

new eggs sellin the 3800 for 70 with no heatsink and fan. I found the same thing at pricegrabber for 95 with heatsink and fan. thats 25 bucks more.
So should i get the new egg 3800 and buy a better heatsink and fan for 25 bucks or should i just use the heat sink and fan that i got with my emachines?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.