Processor Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2006, 02:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Default Processor Upgrade

I am planning on getting the e6300 and upgrading it in a year or two. Is it pretty easy to take the chip out of the Mobo and put a new one in? sorry i'm new to this whole computer building process.
__________________

ilikemouthwash is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 02:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

List computer Specs. All Parts

So long as you have the Same Socket and BIOS Version. Then, yes.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 02:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Its easy to swap out. If you could open the socket to install the CPU, you can take the CPU out just as easy.
turtile is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 02:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Well this is what i'm going to get, open to suggestions, limit is $US 1200-1300 w/o monitor. Going to be used for gaming, want to run CS S, Fear, BF2, BF2142, and games like that on max. The things i'm worried about is to keep it cool, maybe buy a water cooling system, and is the powersupply strong enough to handle all of those things plus a water cooling system.


Cd/dvd
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827151133

Case
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811208006

HD
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144701

Vid card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130071

Power Sup.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817182044

mouse
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16826104178

RAM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145566

mobo
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131045

Process
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115005

Cooling
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835186134
ilikemouthwash is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 03:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

I suggest a Better PSU, such as the 550 Watt Antec or the 520 Watt OCZ. A Hiper 580 WAtt is also a very good choice. You will have alot of room for upgrades/new build.

Better Motherboard

And for the heatsink, Zalman 9700, TT big typhoon, Scythe Ninja, XP 90/120. Take your Pick along with Artic Silver 5.

As for the cooling situation just use all fan slots provided by Case and if Need be get some high CFM Ones. You can add Fan slots on the sides by cutting out 80MM or 120MM Holes. Or any size you want for that matter.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 03:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

yeah i would go for the ds3 mobo too. The p5b-deluxe doesn't oc as well as its /wifi counter part, unless you can spend $28 more for the p5b-deluxe/wifi
__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 03:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Default

So just to make sure, will the Zalman 9700 fit in the case i have picked out? Also, is the Power supply strong enough to handle all those things?
Last thing, how much of that Artic Silver 5 stuff do i need?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835100007


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835100008
ilikemouthwash is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 03:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 299
Default

Can he get that PSU you said Ste? It only has one pci 16X power plug, while the Rosewill has 2. Doesn't an 8800 need 2?
Millenniumtiger is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 03:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Millenniumtiger
Can he get that PSU you said Ste? It only has one pci 16X power plug, while the Rosewill has 2. Doesn't an 8800 need 2?
Edited Post.

One purchase of Artic Silver 5 should be enough for 5-6 Applications.
You only need a small dot in the center, no bigger than a Cooked piece of white Rice.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 03:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817128002

so this PSU will work with my MoBo right? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128018


By the way, thank you so much for all your guys' help. I want to make sure everything is right for when i order it tonight
__________________

ilikemouthwash is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.