Processor Overclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2007, 01:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default Processor Overclocking

I have an AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 2.00Ghz

Can i overclock it? If yes up to how much is recomended without causing any problems?

How can it be done?
__________________

AntonOle is offline  
Old 05-13-2007, 01:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Processor Overclocking

You need to have a motherboard that can overclock as well as RAM and cooling that can handle it. Unless you built your computer with the intention of overclocking in mind you probably won't be able to overclock it much or any at all. Companies such as Dell and HP and Comapq all lock their motherboard BIOS so you cannot overclock.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-13-2007, 01:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default Re: Processor Overclocking

i have an AsusRock motherbaord... So its not advisable to do so..
AntonOle is offline  
Old 05-13-2007, 01:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Processor Overclocking

Overclocking isnt dangerous really as long as you read a little bit...it's just that I don't know if you have the right parts to be able to really.

Was it built by HP, Compaq, or Dell?
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-13-2007, 02:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default Re: Processor Overclocking

Thanks for the info Sora... I think i will hold back on overclocking for the moment then.. Only reason i wanted to do it is to support a good video card but i guess at 2Ghz any card could still have a good performance
AntonOle is offline  
Old 05-13-2007, 02:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Processor Overclocking

what is asusrock? are u talking about AsRock which has PCI-e and AGP on most of em' but i hear OC'ing them isn't the best..
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-13-2007, 02:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Processor Overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by AntonOle View Post
Thanks for the info Sora... I think i will hold back on overclocking for the moment then.. Only reason i wanted to do it is to support a good video card but i guess at 2Ghz any card could still have a good performance
Get an X1950XT and with that Athlon you will still see very nice gaming performance regardless. The Athlon's aren't "Slow" really and it shouldn't bottleneck you that much.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-13-2007, 02:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default Re: Processor Overclocking

yea its ASRock, sorry about that

Indeed it has both AGP and PCI-e

By the way which card would produce better performance.. an AGP or a PCI-e one
AntonOle is offline  
Old 05-13-2007, 02:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default Re: Processor Overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
Get an X1950XT and with that Athlon you will still see very nice gaming performance regardless. The Athlon's aren't "Slow" really and it shouldn't bottleneck you that much.
Sorry for repeating my self Sora but does that card come at 512MB? Because i have a 20" widescreen monitor that runs at 1680x1050 and a 256 card wouldnt do it for me
AntonOle is offline  
Old 05-13-2007, 02:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Processor Overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by AntonOle View Post
Sorry for repeating my self Sora but does that card come at 512MB? Because i have a 20" widescreen monitor that runs at 1680x1050 and a 256 card wouldnt do it for me
wrong don't just think that there is certain memory needed for certain size monitors becuase that's just a gimmick that the market likes you to believe. The X1950XT 256MB will give you much better performance than an X1950PRO even at 1600x1200 really. Don't knock on the X1950XT 256MB until you see that it competes with with the 8800GTS 320 a lot of times..
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.