Processor/Motherboard Upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2006, 09:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 24
Default Processor/Motherboard Upgrade?

Hey all

About a year ago, I had a computer I bought from a physically handicapped co-worker at a previous job I worked at. Bad idea. No system disk, all the fans were sucking air from inside the case out (subsequently overheating), etc. That "heating, etc" is what killed my computer. Me, hoping to do some good, opened up the case and put some thermal compound under the heatsink. This seemed to help some, until the computer started heating up again. After the third time I did this, the computer wouldn't boot. The fans would spin, the lights would come on, but no BIOS start up. I'm thinking that I got thermal compound UNDER the processor. That was over year ago. Since then, I bought a new case, processor, motherboard, RAM, etc, and put all the usuable components from the old computer (CD/DVD drives, floppy drive, hard drive, some fans) into the new computer. I tried to put the hard drive in and magically expected it to work. Oddly enough, it didn't. It ****ed Windows off something fierce. It did the thing that usually happens: windows loads up to the point RIGHT before you get to the login screen, then reboots automatically. I'm told that's what happens when you change the processor behind Window's back. Oh well. I bought XP pro, put a fresh install on the hard drive, everything has been hunky dory for a year.

Now....I bought a Socket 757? 47?ish Athalon 64 3400+ way back whens, thinking it was "fast" and "1337". It isn't, however, and I am sad. I wanted a computer that would tear *** around my room, while staying still. I don't know if it's because Athalon's suck, or maybe I did something wrong. But after upgrading to 2 gigs of RAM and a Radeon X850 pro and not being able to crank the graphics all the way up in F.E.A.R., I decided that I may need to do some sort of processor upgrade.

Now: I don't have an XP CD. An odd little thing happened when I installed Windows: all the files on the CD corrupted when I copied them over, and I was left with a Mediaplayerless Windows experience. Installing M.P. 10 didn't help. I returned the CD to Best Buy, and wanted to swap it out for a new one. Oddly enough, all 3 copies that the store's computer said they had in stock had apparently vanished, so they gave me a gift card with the cost of XP pro on it. (I've since fixed Media Player..I opened the MP 10 installer in WinZip, and extracted all the .dll's to the System folder (or somewhere like that). It worked perfectly.)

From what I've seen, you can put a hard drive with a Windows install into a box with a different motherboard and processor, but you need an XP CD.

Some g33k friends of mine said they knew a method where you could get XP to accept your new processor/motherboard, but you needed the XP CD key for your copy of Windows.

I have this CD Key.

So, what can I do? I simply wish to put a faster processor in my computer. I may need to go Intel this time, so that would mean a new motherboard too. What would I do to make the hard drive with Windows and about 26 PC games installed be happy with new motherboard/processor?


phosphorousgobu is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 10:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 24

Ohh...I searched around the forums and a lot of people seem to be die hard AMD fans.

I get so-so performance....Some would say it's because I use an AMD, some would probably say it's because I'm using an ATI. Or, maybe it's because I have a socket 754 (or whatever 700 number it is).

Any thoughts on why I get less-than-perfect framerates playing
Counterstrike: Source with 20 bots? Even after turning down the fancy graphical effects like HDR?

F.E.A.R. with "Recommended Settings"?

Empire Earth II with lowest settings on a Medium map with 3 computer opponents?

Thanks for your time.

Edit:...I thought "Athalon" looked funny...It's "Athlon". Sorry

phosphorousgobu is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 11:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 458

When you get a new motherboard/processor you have to install a fresh copy of Windows. I'm not exactly sure what your problem is with bad performance, but it could be your processor socket. Try looking at a AMD Athlon 64 socket 939 3700+, which probably means you need a new motherboard unless your board supports socket 939 also. I'd recommend the MSI K8N Neo-4. It's about 90 dollars, very afordable, and many people swear by it here.


<font size=1><b>Current Build:</b>
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
<a href=\"\">AMD 64 X2 4400+ @ 2.20GHz</a>
Big Typhoon Heatsink/Fan
2 GB G.Skill DDR500 PC4000
eVGA 256MB 7800GTX
37GB Raptor
2x 120GB Hard Drives</font>
sickness is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 11:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,954

I get so-so performance....Some would say it's because I use an AMD, some would probably say it's because I'm using an ATI.
Poor game perform because of an AMD? Only if you're running a socket A, like me . AMDs whup major butt in gaming compared to Intel.

Poor performance because of ATI? The X850Pro ain't a bad card...
but it ain't a nVidia, either.

For better game performance, you should definately look into a socket 939 CPU and mobo. Basically any AMD 64 CPU wil fit the bill, but dual-core is the next big thang, so you may want to look at the X2s.

When you get a new motherboard/processor you have to install a fresh copy of Windows.
Not exactly true. You are definately gonna have to get hold of a XP Pro disk somehow. Beg, borrow, or... well, beg, as any other option is illegal. Using a different disk than the one you used to install is not a big deal, as you are using your own key. But you will need to do a repair install, not a new install.

Here's a link to a great article covering exactly what you are going to do:,00.asp

Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.