Processor Motherboard question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-02-2006, 01:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 59
Default Processor Motherboard question

this may seem like a strange question but bare with me.

the mother board that I have in my comp now, the ASUS A8N-SLI is a good motherboard and it works fine for me BUT, on Newegg, if you check the tech specs, it says that it doesnt support AMD X2 Processors, only Athlon 64 and Athlon FX. However, in this guide that is linked to from this very site, the builder uses the EXACT SAME mobo with an AMD X2 Processor. Has anyone had any experience with this board and an AMD X2? I REALLY want to put an AMD X2 in my machine if it is possible. Any input is appreciated as usual!

Reaver is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 08:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 97

If I am not mistaken....the Mobo manual clearly states it will run X2 as well as certain FX cpu's. I am at work, but can check when i get home. I thought I just read that the other day, I have the same mobo.

A8N32-SLI Deluxe supports the two mentioned above. I don't see the Premium board on the Asus site any more. I'll check the manual.

wjones007 is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 11:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 59

yeah please do, i left mine at my house when i moved into my dorm. On the box it shows the AMD X2 logo, which i feel is a pretty good indicator that it may work. But post a reply if you find anything..

Reaver is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 12:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
NosBoost300's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300

just go on the asus site and download their newest bios, after that you shouldnt have a problem using the x2 processors...

most times with these x2's its always bio's updates to use them.. so just check you manufacturers site for bios updates
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.