Processor and FPS - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2007, 10:43 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default Re: Processor and FPS

"If it's because I'm online does that mean I need a new network card, or is it something else to do with online gaming that would cause fps drop."

IMO your just getting server lag, try and find a server with lower latency, your rig should be able to own css.

Even on my system, I can go hdr and max settings at 1280X1024 and have css playable.

The more people on the server, the more the slowdown is, when you die you can fly around and view the action, try zooming around overhead over several players and see if it lags there, if so it might be your system.

Some periodic pauses and random momentary slowdowns is just the server.

With such a fast paced game, I turn down most all of the settings, run it at 1024x768 resolution, I also use a lot of the cvar tweaks from caseys config, with this setup I'm almost always over 100fps, ready to own, and as long as I'm on a good server my ping is low and game is very 100% responsive.
__________________

macdawg is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 11:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
sadisticmidget's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 93
Default Re: Processor and FPS

Temps are fine, and I don't want to mess around with overclocking something especially something that came overclocked out of the box.

I use my own custom autoexec file with many of the things turned down....specular lighting, bump mapping, physics props, model lod, textures, rag dolls, and still have issues.
__________________

__________________
Intel Pentium D @ 3.4ghz
Kingston 512 x 4 DDR2 RAM
Nvidia 7900 GT KO
200gb SATA
sadisticmidget is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 04:06 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
sadisticmidget's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 93
Default Re: Processor and FPS

Also, every now and then when I'm playing CSS my screen will go all liney and fuzzy. The best way to describe it. I tried to take a screen shot but it didn't show up in the screen shot. I have no Idea what that means.
__________________

__________________
Intel Pentium D @ 3.4ghz
Kingston 512 x 4 DDR2 RAM
Nvidia 7900 GT KO
200gb SATA
sadisticmidget is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.