Which Processor + Board - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2009, 04:49 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Which Processor + Board

If you're so concerned about the mobo, check out the EVGA x58. I have absolutely no complaints about mine. It is rock solid and it overclocks easily and very well.

What programs are you using? If you're just using like Photoshop and stuff, a gtx260 will be more than enough. You would be absolutely fine with a gtx250 even. Those aren't very dependent at all on GFX cards. They are memory hogs more than anything. If you have CS4, you will be able to do the real time zoom thing but that doesn't really take much GFX power. Its just a new feature.
__________________

__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 08:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 14
Default Re: Which Processor + Board

Its the likes of corel, photoshop, illustrator, some 3d work etc

The problem is, sometime some of the designs im working on are HUGE, maybe metres in size! Thats why i want it to be strong enough to run this, as i have had many problems before.

What you think?
__________________

darz1984 is offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 09:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Which Processor + Board

you most likely will want to get a good amount of ram then, if you can get it get 2 of these kits. thier the best performing on the market for the price.

Newegg.com - OCZ Platinum 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Triple Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 05:51 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Which Processor + Board

Ya ram will be your biggest limiting factor. If you don't game, you might want to consider getting an FX series card. I don't know if they are in your budget though, they can get pretty pricey.
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 01:43 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 14
Default Re: Which Processor + Board

Does newegg.com prices include all taxes? It works out at 150.00 cheaper from There

Pitty they dont ship to UK though, but i do have family who stay there, and would easy post it for me. Not sure how much it would cost though? Processor, motherboard, RAM, HD and Vista? Would this be a heavy package?
darz1984 is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 01:51 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 14
Default Re: Which Processor + Board

BTW, it woulld be going to Houston, Texas first.
darz1984 is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 07:56 PM   #17 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Which Processor + Board

that package may weigh 5 pounds.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 10:00 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Which Processor + Board

Just put in the zipcode of where they live and it will show the taxes and how much it will cost to ship it there. I'm guessing it won't cost too much
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 08:22 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 14
Default Re: Which Processor + Board

Well i went ahead and bought it, i got the following:

Intel i7 920
Asus P6T Deluxe V2
OCZ Triple Channel 6gb memory (as suggested)
1TB western Digital Caviar Green.

I am just waiting for my PSU to arrive (Thermaltake Toughpower W0116RB). Now my next problem... which graphics card do i buy?

I wish this was easier! Everythings together and just waiting for the card to fit in!
darz1984 is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 08:31 PM   #20 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Which Processor + Board

What size monitor do you play your games on?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.