which processor? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2007, 08:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Default which processor?

I want to get the quad core. Which one though? Either QX6800 or should I wait for the QX6850 this fall? I know the bus size FOR QX6850 is 1333 and QX6800 is 1066 i think. Plus the ram is DDR3 intead of DDR2. Is this going to make a big difference? I'm not a computer expert by no means. I'm going to use it fstrictly for gaming and my wife is going to use multiple applications on it. is it worth the wait? i just want to have good specs when cyrsis comes out? any suggestions much appreciated!

Red
__________________

Redonmyhead is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 08:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: which processor?

Get the Q6600 instead, on July 22, when the prices fall. The Q6600 will only be around $270, compared to the QXs $1000 price tag. Then just overclock it.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 08:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: which processor?

will the newer processors have a bigger advantage over the older quad processors when they come out this fall (like a big margin difference)?
Redonmyhead is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 08:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: which processor?

No....just overclock the Q6600 to the speed of the QXs and it will perform the same. You save about $730, right there. How can you go wrong with a quad core, that only cost $270? The only thing the QXs have, is an unlocked multiplier, but that's not necessary.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 09:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: which processor?

tx, man
Redonmyhead is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 10:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: which processor?

if you are going to use multi-threaded applications then buy quad core or else maybe dual core is good because quad core is kinda pricey and core 2 duo will overclock pretty high with a good price.
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 10:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default Re: which processor?

DDR 3 will not be cost effective for a long while, nor will its performance be better, if at all (tomshardware states that current ultra high performance RAM will outperform DDR3's initial release).

Intel Intros 3-Series Chipsets with FSB1333 and DDR3 | Tom's Hardware
__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 10:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: which processor?

if you are going to use multi-threaded applications then buy quad core or else maybe dual core is good because quad core is kinda pricey and core 2 duo will overclock pretty high with a good price.
__________________

advancedgeek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Processor overheating hammad76 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 14 05-25-2007 09:21 PM
My C2D processor only showing one Core!! Please Help!! Nour Ershaid Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 05-08-2007 01:11 PM
new processor help dafunkmon Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-07-2007 07:33 PM
New Computer Processor Has The Potential Of Reaching Trillions Of Calculations Per Se b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 20 05-01-2007 08:20 AM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.