Which processor? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2007, 05:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 252
Default Which processor?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103546


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115005
__________________

Rawmaterial is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 05:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

Core 2 Duo E6300 is better
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 06:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

At stock speeds their comparable. Overclocked the E6300 is much faster. Plus the E6300 is cheaper so I would go with that.
dario03 is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 06:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

These two processors are pretty much equally powerful. The E6300 is cheaper (and not by a small difference!), so I'd definitely go for it.

Here's a review comparing the 65nm version of the X2 4400+ (Brisbane core) to the Conroe E6300: link. The review kinda sucks, but it's the best (and closest) I could found for a 6300 vs 4400+ comparison.

FYI, the 65nm Brisbane 4400+ should perform only slightly better than the Toledo core 4400+ you posted.
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 07:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

you will be able to oc an e6300 a **** of alot more then any amd out there
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 12:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 252
Default

should i bump it to a e6400 for 30 bucks more?
Rawmaterial is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 12:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Don't bother, it'll offer roughly the same overclocking.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 03:59 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TriEclipse
Don't bother, it'll offer roughly the same overclocking.
Uhm.. I think I'll have to disagree. For overclocking, the higher multiplier (even if it's only a tad higher) is desirable. Let me throw some figures in.

It's been proven that when overclocking Conroes, the main limitation is the FSB. I don't think anyone knows for sure what's the overclocking limit of the chip itself - not even the best motherboard can push these babies to their fullest potential.

So, let's pretend you have a good motherboard that can handle a 400Mhz FSB (overclocked from 266Mhz). With an E6300, that'd produce 400Mhz x 7 = 2.8Ghz. With an E6400, that'd be 400Mhz * 8 = 3.2Ghz. It's a 400Mhz difference (naturally), which could be very noticeable, considering the two Conroes are similar in every way except the multiplier ... and you only had to pay $35 for these extra 400Mhz. Push the FSB past 400Mhz, and your gainings will be even larger.

Rawmaterial: if you're definitely going to overclock your CPU, you might wanna consider an E6400. If not, there's no point in getting it; settle with an E6300. At stock speeds, the difference between the two is minimal.
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 04:22 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 252
Default

someone suggested this -->

"Opteron 165 @ 2.7ghz overclocked on stock voltage from stock 1.8ghz"
Rawmaterial is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 04:44 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Opterons are server CPUs. This means they're designed with the "slower but safer" concept in mind. The instruction set is limited, not containing as many game-oriented instructions as normal desktop CPUs. Opterons tend to suck at SuperPi for some reason (weak FPU?)

As I said above, for normal use, get an E6300; for overclocking, get an E6400.
__________________

__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.