proceser - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2006, 10:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 85
Default proceser

i need a better procesor than a pd 3.2 i was lookin at a conroe e6400 any suggestion
__________________

mattowns is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 10:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 85
Default

any1
__________________

mattowns is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 11:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default

the e6400 is a good processor, im not gonna lie.
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 11:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Whats your budget? Any core 2 duo will do.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 11:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default

Yeah that should be a big improvement. I have an e6600 and it is blazing fast even at stock speeds. Just be sure that your motherboard is Socket LGA 775 and not anything else. Core 2 Duos only support LGA 775. You'll need DDR2 RAM too.
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 11:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 85
Default

o dam this is a nub question but how do i find out what i have.

cuase i ahve 4 gigs of ram and idk if its ddr 2 or 3 i think its 3 but how can i check
mattowns is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 11:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

there is no ddr3, only 2. ddr3 is only in gpu's right now.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 11:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 85
Default

o then i have ddr2 how do i find my socket or watever
mattowns is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 11:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Download this program called CPU-Z:
http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php
It will tell alot about your system. Motherboard socket, cpu, memory, etc..
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 09:31 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 85
Default

sweet i have ddr2 and a 775 so i can get it.
__________________

mattowns is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.