which proceesor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2006, 05:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default which proceesor

Which should i get:
amd opty 146 or
amd x2 3800+?

I am getting an dfi lanparty Ut nf4 jsut need help decidieng which cpu to get.
__________________

__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 10:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20
Default

the amd x2 3800+ is a great cpu. If your into OC'ing its got a lot of potential and can rival the higher x2's when OC'ed. Search around this forum. I saw an atricle from cnet where they show that the dual core amd's are way better than the intel dual core in every catagory. Ill try and find it for you.
__________________

tanda317 is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 10:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20
Default

ok read this:
http://reviews.cnet.com/4520-10442_7-6389077-1.html
tanda317 is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 10:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 245
Default

it depends what you're doing with the system...if you're doing rendering/video editing, get the Opteron, if you're mostly gaming, get the Athlon
jdhore1 is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 11:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 12
Default

i'd go for the x2
MrBarby is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 11:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default

i only light game for now i'm not really into it like i was. i am thinking jsut save hte money an get the opty (i am overclockign it) and then in a little while go for either hte conroe or a x2.

Btw the crap stated above about the intel dual core vs amd is worthless if i even said anything about intel i would be ok with getting a message like but the opty and the x2's are not intel so don't crap the thread. I know you were tryign to help but you are way off the topic to even start with. Getting jsut a little sick of all these intel vs amd crap that is posted everyday and the same comments are made.
__________________

__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.