Problems with X2s? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2006, 09:41 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Quote:
Its better than ANYTHING in the GeForce 6 series. It beats the 6800GT/GS/Ultra. Can't believe Nvidia was able to do this.
Yea, those insanely illogical clocks make up for it, personally I'd rather have 256bit memory and harshly slower clocks.
__________________

Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 10:09 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

i hear that the 3800+ compares to a 3.0GHz pentium processor, so by that logic, YES, yes it will.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 10:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

ok sweet, thats wut i was lookin for thanks.

btw (off topic) john3, niice sig, i have a HP with a celeron 433MHz and i think its like 80Mhz FSB or something like that with 256MB of ram maxed out and a gateway PII 400Mhz and 64MB of RAM both with XP Pro. lol)
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 10:15 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

i no isnt it amazing, i got it like 6 or 7 years ago. im getting a new build this summer, WOOT WOOT!
john3 is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 10:18 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

lol niice yea i think i was just lookin at ur post, gotta love those old computers with the "latest technology" of their time.

whats the differences in chipsets? i suppose the more expensive boards have a better chipset but what do they do? OC features? stuff like that?
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 11:01 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

If you're planning having ocing as a possibility, get the DFI Lanpart UT nf4, its $50 cheapers, and you can invest that into a nice PSU or another gig of ram.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 09:06 AM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

yeah i guess that they are more stable?
john3 is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 03:58 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 109
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
There is a known issue with all multicore processors with thermal throttling (eg cool and quiet) in which you'll get processor speed up and slow downs that will kill any performance. Most likely any site that has issues with X2s in games did not do their research and did not install the hotfix

This issue is easily resolved with a driver and a registry edit
Where do you get the hotfix? Got a link?
Shocker is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 05:12 PM   #19 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=81429
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 05:18 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Quote:
i hear that the 3800+ compares to a 3.0GHz pentium processor, so by that logic, YES, yes it will.
No, the Athlon 64 3800+ performs a bit better than the Intel Pentium 4 3.6ghz. The 512k cache cripples it though.
__________________

Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.