Problems with CRT to 8800gtx ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2007, 08:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
magezzz's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 95
Thumbs up Problems with CRT to 8800gtx ?

I'm using a 19" CRT, wondering will it show ****y or bottleneck the true colours and fame rates of the 8800gtx ? Plus I'm gunna need to get an adaptor to change the DVI on 8800gtx to VGA which is what im asuming CRT's use, will that cause less vibrante colours or w.e ?

Seagate 320GB
Corsair HX 620W
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
Gigabyte GA-P35C-DS3R
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
OCZ 2x1GB Revision 2 PC6400 800Mhz
magezzz is offline  
Old 03-15-2007, 08:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,952
Default Re: Problems with CRT to 8800gtx ?

It ought to be fine with the 8800.


Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 03-15-2007, 08:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: Problems with CRT to 8800gtx ?

You will probably be able to use higher resolutions and have better color range than on an average LCD. Frame rates don't have anything to do with the type of monitor. Just make sure you use a high refresh rate to avoid flickering.

The 8800 will probably include 1 or 2 DVI-->D-SUB connectors. Check the manual/product description.
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.