Is the problem my mobo? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2008, 11:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Default Is the problem my mobo?

I recently built a new computer, and though I had help I've never built one before. My motherboard is an Asus m2n-sli deluxe and my video card is an evga geforce 8800 gt superclocked edition. The video card uses a pci express 2.0 interface while the card is pci express 1.

Before I bought my parts, I read that pci-e 2.0 is completely backwards compatible, but upon further reading I discovered that some say it matters if the older device is pci-e 1.0a or 1.1a. In any case, I don't know what my motherboard is.

When I turned my computer on for the first time, everything seemed fine. No beeps, unusual sounds - except the monitor stayed black and the LED remained the amber color that means no signal. I took the video card out and tried it again. Same thing. I put it in the other pci-e slot (I have 2) and still no signal. Finally, I tried both slots with a Radeon x 1950 pro. Again, no signal. The monitor, cable, and adapter that I was using on my new computer were the same ones that worked fine with my old one.

So, essentially I have two questions:
1) Is the problem my motherboard?
2) If the problem is my motherboard and I need to get a new one should I get one that expressly supports pci-e 2.0 or should I be fine with a pci-e 1 board?

Thanks so much for the feedback, this problem has been extremely frustrating.
__________________

noahnz is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 10:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 41
Default Re: Is the problem my mobo?

the whole pci 1.0 and 2.0 are just interface speeds and are really not going to make much difference if ur motherboard has one or the other for now. a 2.0 graphics card will work flawless on a older pci express x16 and vice versa. The problem may have nothing to do with the graphics or the mobo, check power, see if the processor is in well and if ur ram is being underpowered.
__________________

__________________

THERMALTAKE LANBOX LITE
ASUS 18X DVD+/-R DVD BURNER WITH LIGHT SCRIBE
GIGABYTE LGA 775 NVIDIA GEFORCE MICRO ATX 610I
SEAGATE BARRACUDA 250GB 7200 RPM
A-DATA 4GB ( 2X2GB) DDR2-800
INTEL 6600 DUO CONROE @ 2.4 GHZ
MICROSOFT WINDOWS VISTA ULTIMATE
8800 GTX EVGA
600 WATT COOLER MASTER POWER SUPPLY
22 INCH VIEWSONIC MONITOR WSXGA+ (1680X1050)
aaron09658 is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 01:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 98
Default Re: Is the problem my mobo?

u got ur monitor plugged into the back of the vid card right? not the mobo?...
__________________
Laptop: Asus M51 Series http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16834220308

My Build: Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe || AMD Athalon x2 6000+ (3.25Ghz OC) || AC Freezer 64 Pro || nVidia GeForce 8800GT 512MB || G.Skill 2x 2GB DDR2 800 || Western Digital 500GB 7200 HDD || Samsung 20x DVD Burner || Sunbeam Transformer ATX Full Case || Windows Vista 64 Bit || Rosewill 850W PSU

Logitech G15 Keyboard (new orange version) & Logitech G5 Mouse (black/blue version)

11k 3DMark06 Score
mark1413 is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 08:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Is the problem my mobo?

Yes, all the cables are where they should be. I've taken the RAM out and put it in the other slots, still nothing. My friend says that the processor needs to be in for the computer to turn on at all, so I'm fairly sure thats working. I'm not sure exactly how to tell if my power supply is right for the computer, but its 650 watts and sli ready w/ 3 12v rails w/ 19A each. Not like that means much to me...

Newegg.com - Antec True Power Trio TP3-650 ATX12V 650W Power Supply with Three 12V Rails 100 - 240 V UL, CUL, FCC, TUV, CE, C-tick, CCC, CB - Retail
thats the psu
noahnz is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 12:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Is the problem my mobo?

How could I tell if my ram were underpowered?
noahnz is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 09:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 41
Default Re: Is the problem my mobo?

it will cause the computer to be sluggish or boot up then freeze. Can you hear ur harddrive start accessing files? Like tho as if its loading windows? or does it just turn on and thats it? cause that will narrow the causes alot.
__________________

THERMALTAKE LANBOX LITE
ASUS 18X DVD+/-R DVD BURNER WITH LIGHT SCRIBE
GIGABYTE LGA 775 NVIDIA GEFORCE MICRO ATX 610I
SEAGATE BARRACUDA 250GB 7200 RPM
A-DATA 4GB ( 2X2GB) DDR2-800
INTEL 6600 DUO CONROE @ 2.4 GHZ
MICROSOFT WINDOWS VISTA ULTIMATE
8800 GTX EVGA
600 WATT COOLER MASTER POWER SUPPLY
22 INCH VIEWSONIC MONITOR WSXGA+ (1680X1050)
aaron09658 is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 12:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Is the problem my mobo?

I haven't installed windows yet. I turn on the computer, all the lights and fans come on, but there is no signal to the monitor. It says black and the light stays orange. I'm approaching the 30-day refund deadline for my motherboard. I think I'm going to try and get a different board of the same type. Any other ideas?
noahnz is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 11:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Is the problem my mobo?

No signal. I've notice a lot of people have been having this problem. I usually get it when I clean out the dust on my 7600GT. But it's fixed once I reseat the video card and unplug + plug back in the D-sub cable. Double check if all wires are connected. Check your 4-pin PSU power connector as well.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS m2n sli deluxe mobo problem. possibly cpu galvo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 12-24-2007 02:04 PM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
CoolerMaster Centurion Case... Mobo problem?? OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 5 07-04-2007 01:50 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM
Chronic Rebooting Problem AND_YOU_ARE Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-24-2007 06:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.