Problem... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2005, 09:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 315
Default Problem...

ok, so i have my case and power supply as of now, in my house. I took the box that was inside the case out and put it on top of the case. My babysitter threw it away(99% sure). now i dont have any of the case screws.Can i get these and use these? : http://www.xoxide.com/thumbscrews.html

if i can't, where can i get screws that i will need (well,hopefully itll turn up, but i need to know)
__________________

karpfish24 is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 11:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Those can't really be used to secure drives, Expasnion cards, or to secure motherboard.

I would just buy a really cheap case, use the stuff that comes with that and hey you have an extra case...

but, I wouldn't know to get a screw/standoff kit for a PC.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 12:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball
Default

Those are for the outside of the case, to secure a side panel, usually. They won't work for your motherboard or any of the insides. Just go and kill your babysitter.
__________________
AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
MSI-RS480M-IL
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 01:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Riceball
Those are for the outside of the case, to secure a side panel, usually. They won't work for your motherboard or any of the insides. Just go and kill your babysitter.
Ya I would make him/her pay for the replacements.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 08:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 315
Default

u caqnt buy those screws anywhere?
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
eVGA 7800GT
OCZ Gold DDR400 2GB(2x1GB)
OCZ ModStream 520 Watt PSU
Creative Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Music 24-Bit
Western Digital Raptor 36GB and Caviar 160GB
Thermaltake Armor Full Tower
karpfish24 is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 08:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yeah, just go to a computer or a hardware shop
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 08:45 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 315
Default

i have no idea hjow big or what kind to get if i were to go to a hardwarfe shop though
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
eVGA 7800GT
OCZ Gold DDR400 2GB(2x1GB)
OCZ ModStream 520 Watt PSU
Creative Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Music 24-Bit
Western Digital Raptor 36GB and Caviar 160GB
Thermaltake Armor Full Tower
karpfish24 is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 10:53 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Just go in and tell them what happened im sure they could help you find SCREWS!
Ste is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 04:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball
Default

Yea just go to your local computer shop and tell them your problem.
__________________
AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
MSI-RS480M-IL
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 04:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

I have so many of those screws for motherboards and what not that I usually throw them out.


A computer shop should have a surplus of them.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.