Preliminary build - need some input - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2008, 12:03 PM   #11 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Preliminary build - need some input

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
The antec 300 doesn't require extra fans to cool effectively
True, I should have been more clear about that. The 300 doesn't need the extra fans but I think it's worth the additional cost to add them since with the extra fans the 300 has just about the best airflow you can get on any case in its price range.

Thermal paste goes between your cpu cooler and the top of your cpu to ensure good contact. Just put a dot the size of a grain of rice in the center of the cpu and the pressure for the cooler being installed will spread it out.

The newegg link doesn't work.
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 12:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 95
Default Re: Preliminary build - need some input

Well, I don't know how to fix it (or if I can, being that the wish list is on my NewEgg account).

But anyways, the revised build is the same as the original post except for the ram being changed to the G-Skill Black as suggested, the mobo swapped for the Biostar you suggested, the processor swapped for the Q9300, and the addition of the Sunbeam CPU cooler.

All told I'm running about $1,144, which is more than I'd like to spend but I'm still banking on prices coming down over the next six months.

And does the thermal paste come with the CPU cooler?
__________________

kershner is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 02:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Preliminary build - need some input

Yes, TX-2 thermal paste comes with the Sunbeam Core Contact.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 02:36 PM   #14 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Preliminary build - need some input

i like to suggest this ram
Newegg.com - OCZ SLI-Ready 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

it has a better command rate than the gskill and i can personally testify to its quality and speed. it will cost a little more for the original purchase price (70ish vs 50 for the gskill)...you have to buy 2 sets if you want 4gb...but after the MIR its only 14 bucks per set. yowzer.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 07:52 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Preliminary build - need some input

^ ohh thats really good ram. i have some right now.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 12-19-2008, 11:41 PM   #16 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Preliminary build - need some input

me too
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 02:59 PM   #17 (permalink)
Running on empty.
 
chesirecat1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nicaragua
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to chesirecat1701 Send a message via MSN to chesirecat1701 Send a message via Yahoo to chesirecat1701
Default Re: Preliminary build - need some input

I'm running on the 4 gb set (2x2gb) OCZ SLI PC 6400, I remember i was $105 then a $20 MIR, now I know the same set costs $54 with a $25 MIR so that's $25 for 4 GB of rock solid reliable ram
chesirecat1701 is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 08:52 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Preliminary build - need some input

Quote:
Originally Posted by kershner View Post
Well, I don't know how to fix it (or if I can, being that the wish list is on my NewEgg account).

But anyways, the revised build is the same as the original post except for the ram being changed to the G-Skill Black as suggested, the mobo swapped for the Biostar you suggested, the processor swapped for the Q9300, and the addition of the Sunbeam CPU cooler.

All told I'm running about $1,144, which is more than I'd like to spend but I'm still banking on prices coming down over the next six months.

And does the thermal paste come with the CPU cooler?
Seriously mate, alot will change in 6 months - if thats when you plan to build.

Its fine to get an idea of what you want, which it seems is what your doing. But by that time not just prices will change, but we will probably be recommending a different mobo, newer gpu, and different ram. Ram for example is quite a volitile market, it goes up an down in price depending on supply.

Just be aware the recommended build will probably change too.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 12-21-2008, 06:23 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 95
Default Re: Preliminary build - need some input

I'm actually happy that I won't be buying for six months or so, even though I'd love to have my gaming rig right now of course. This will allow me to pretty much become an expert in the area just from following up on the latest tech and what not/'practice' building friends and relative's PCs.

Hopefully in the summer I'll be able to squeeze even more performance out of the same price range, which I'm betting will be entirely possible.
kershner is offline  
Old 12-21-2008, 07:17 PM   #20 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Preliminary build - need some input

You'll get much better performance out of your budget within 6 months. So its not really a disadvantage to do research ahead of time.
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
semi-final build plan (with some issues) plz giv input Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 10-15-2007 10:03 PM
Domain Controller and SQL server Build abadjay New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-05-2007 08:39 AM
New Build: need substantive input neoinarien New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-04-2007 08:00 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.