Pre-watercooled case? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-17-2007, 01:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Pre-watercooled case?

Hey, I know it's better to build it from scratch with mixed parts, but I seen this case and was wondering if its any good? It's the same price as the cooler master stacker i was gonna get, but rather than having to lap a thermalright heatsink and stuffs to get some decent cooling on my q6600 OC, I was wondering if this would still do a way better cooling job than air? cause its not a bad price. ( even if the window on the armor case is fugly lol)

Thermaltake Armor LCS / Liquid Cooled Full Tower Case / Black / VE2000BWS - FrozenCPU.com
__________________

Akubane is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 08:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Pre-watercooled case?

Don't trust any of Thermaltake's watercooling. They're famous for not being top quality, and they're more prone to leakage. The best air cooler can get you temperatures, close to TT's watercooling kits. And that is the Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme(no fan included).
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 08:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Pre-watercooled case?

yeah it looks like the bigwater kit. u look up sum reviews and ull see what b1's talking about
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 01:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: Pre-watercooled case?

ah, well that sucks lol I was hoping I wouldnt have to bother with the thermalright -.-. thanks for the help ^^
Akubane is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 01:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Pre-watercooled case?

Nothing wrong with the TRUE although im definately going to have to lap mine, as im getting 5-10 degree differences between my cores. Whats really bad is that even when core 0 is idle, its still running the hottest.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 02:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: Pre-watercooled case?

Yes, dont get anything that Thermaltake makes for Watercooling. They make great cases but WC has never been a strong point. If you are going to get a pre watercooled case look at these-
Koolance PC3-736SL Water Cooled Server Case
Koolance PC3-726SL Professional Line Case - Silver

But it would be much cheaper to just buil your own loop from Petra's Tech Shop I highly reccomend them, and i know aspire.comptech will too.
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 03:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: Pre-watercooled case?

yeah i've no doubt that TRUE rocks for air cooling XD i just dont think i could drop my new CPU in a puddle of water on some sandpaper hahaha XD hmm i kinda figured id be better off building my own, just no experience with it XD guess everyone starts somewhere eh? I'll deff check out Petra's tech shop. Hope they ship to canada XD if not i can at least pick out the parts there, once i do a bit of searchin to find out what i need to put it all together. can most of the watercooling actually fit in the case? or would I have to build a seperate unit like i've noticed some other people doing. Or is that just advanced stuff that I can look into after i get a bit of experience and actually see how this works/is put together?

thanks for all the help btw really aprpeciate it ^^
Akubane is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 03:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: Pre-watercooled case?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akubane View Post
yeah i've no doubt that TRUE rocks for air cooling XD i just dont think i could drop my new CPU in a puddle of water on some sandpaper hahaha XD hmm i kinda figured id be better off building my own, just no experience with it XD guess everyone starts somewhere eh? I'll deff check out Petra's tech shop. Hope they ship to canada XD if not i can at least pick out the parts there, once i do a bit of searchin to find out what i need to put it all together. can most of the watercooling actually fit in the case? or would I have to build a seperate unit like i've noticed some other people doing. Or is that just advanced stuff that I can look into after i get a bit of experience and actually see how this works/is put together?

thanks for all the help btw really aprpeciate it ^^
Well what Case do you have? A cpu,res,pump,rad loop should fit into any case. If you add GPU and another pump then thats when it gets pretty large. Heres a guide to go by when building you Loop. Dont forget to test the loop for leaks before you install it into your case.
Guide To WaterCooling and Leak Testing - ALL New WaterCooler's Read Before Posting! - XtremeSystems Forums

Petras does ship to canada but you must contact them by phone and order the parts from there. Contact here-
Petra's Tech Shop
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 09:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: Pre-watercooled case?

Cooler Master Stacker 832
Corsair 620w modular psu
G.Skill ddr2 ram x2
Asus p5k Premium
XFX Geforce GTX extreme
samsung dvd burner
seagate 750gb hd
intel q6600 quad

ah thanks ill check it all out and read the guide. huge help thank you.
Akubane is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 11:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 347
Default Re: Pre-watercooled case?

I for one can vouch personally that the TT bigwater is an utter peice of sh*t. Don't trust them, and the one in that case is very similar, however the rad is a tad bit better, along with the pump, but since the pump is connected to the res, there will be heat generated from the pump heating up your water fast then it would if it was in a drive bay or something. Anyone who gets a thermaltake water cooler regrets it, especially if they're looking for better than air quality cooliong.

As for the case.. amazing, get it, you'll love it. Moddable, beautiful, and massive!
__________________

Alexinator is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gonna buy a new case becuase I CAN...not to sure what to get Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 46 08-12-2007 12:05 PM
Thoughts on the Antec 900 joey1 New Systems | Building and Buying 69 07-14-2007 06:04 AM
motherboard wont fit the case siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 20 06-22-2007 03:33 PM
Better case? mnelson07 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 06-17-2007 01:57 PM
will this case fit the desired psu? siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-04-2007 10:41 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.