Pre-purchase qualifying round

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheSwig

Beta member
So I have been using a MacBook Pro for about 4 years now and have decided it is time to get back to PC. While I am on a slight budget, my goal is to build a PC with the main priority of being able to play Skyrim and SW:TOR (when they come out) on high to ultra settings. I have been researching for a while now and think I have come up with a solid build, but before I buy anything I would like to get some feedback from people who know better than I. So here are my specs:

CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T
Mobo: Gigabyte GA990FXA-UD3
GPU: HIS IceQX Turbo (Radeon HD 6950) - Only 1 for now but was thinking of possibly adding another in crossfire mode if necessary...
RAM: GSkill 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1600
SSD: OCZ Vertex 3 120 GB
Storage: Western Digital 1 TB
Cooling: Corsair Hydro H60

The total so far on newegg is $1152 and I think it is pretty beastly, just wanted some feedback for a solid case that will keep it cool enough and a power supply that will support this thing. Also will it be necessary to get a second GPU to run these games on Ultra settings? What about adding another 8 GB of RAM, its only $60 but is it even necessary now? Another $270 for the second GPU is a lot but the holiday season will be coming soon :)

Welcome to TF.

For a gaming rig, intel is the best right now, especially as hex cores arent fully used.

Whats your budget? maybe can improve your build.

Don't get the h60, its a novolty honestly... an air cooler will do just as good... Unless youre needing space. Then then i guess, but dont expect alot.

Te psu depends on if you xfire... 550 if you dont, 750 if you are.

Edity

You could go this route:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131705
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115072

For bout 10 bucks more.