Pre-Built Companys - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2006, 11:28 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Probably cyberpowerpc.com is the best place for you if you utterly must buy a prefab computer..

Alien ware are far too expensive and their products are not that much top of the line anyways...... they just have an Alienware tag on them thats all, would you pay an extra 1k$++ just for a tatoo? :P

Also, Monarch computers has some SERIOUS problems in their costumer service, I've heard too many horror stories about them ,definantly don't try your luck there.

-Jo.
__________________

Yoad is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 11:28 AM   #12 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by atomic tofu
I often suggest people go branded for the support.
LoL, I have the best tech support in the world, it is called TF =)
__________________

__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.Ē ~ Samuel Jackson

ďOmnis vir est fortunae faberĒ
JoshSB is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 11:53 AM   #13 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

i went with cyberpower, same comp from alienware would have been over $3500. i spent 1550 w/o monitor. used the rest for my bigscreen
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 12:20 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 133
Send a message via AIM to werdna35
Default

www.savrow.com... dunno if that helps.
werdna35 is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 12:51 PM   #15 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

ok, sorry about earlier. I guess I was frustrated at a dell commercial about one of those ***** XPS'S.

anyways do you have any computer shop local??? cause I personaly think that is the best way to go . For one reason you get more of what you want and not what is in the "fill in the bubble chart".

And if somethin is wrong it is much easeir to resovle a problem with someon local.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 01:50 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 19
Default

Do *NOT* buy from monarch. they just got bought out by another company, and they absolutely SUCK.

Check the ratings at resellerratings.com, 50% of their customers in last 6 months said they won't buy from them again.

They took me for $5000+. Don't make the same mistake I did
Bluesshuffle is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 02:40 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

$5000? That's your fault. Could've built that for $2600.

Edit: Just read your other thread about it. That sucks man.
The General is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 04:14 PM   #18 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

ya I say **** those internet retailers and stick with a localy onwed computer shop. I can guaruntee customer service is 100 times better
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 04:40 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lancec2c30
ya I say **** those internet retailers and stick with a localy onwed computer shop. I can guaruntee customer service is 100 times better
but in most cases, so is the price .

-Jo.
Yoad is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 04:53 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ZDevil
Hey my 1st post and im already getting slammed =(
Thx for the love lancec2c30.......

Anyways.......
Ill im trying to acquire is if someone has past experience with pre-built companys and can help me choose one.

And im not trying to start anything but just chill out, some people just dont have the time or the opportunity to build there own rig. I myself can buy the separate parts and assemble them, but i just want a "plug and play". Imagine if you had to build your on TV just to say a couple hundred bucks.......I would rather have a proffesional that knows what they are doing and build it the right way. Thats all im trying to get at people.

Again thx for all the input......
Actually if you want it built right, do it yourself. You not only save money, but you get better parts, and you know how it was assembled.

But if you want a pre-built, I'd go with a high-end eMachines. I know atleast 6 people that have had eMachines (including myself) and we've NEVER had ANY problems. The stock OS is junk, so I would pick up a Windows XP Professional disc when you buy it and re-format right off the bat.

I don't really have much experiance with pre-builts though.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.