Powersupply problem... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-23-2007, 02:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8
Default Powersupply problem...

I recently upgraded my video card from a Nvidia 7950 GX2 to a EVGA Nvidia 8800 GT Superclock card. I installed it, and realized that my power supply was only 375 Watts Max...

I am now looking at a powersupply to buy (on tigerdirect.ca) and I was wondering if this powersupply would be enough for my new video card:
Ultra X-Finity 600-Watt ATX Dual 80mm Fan SATA-Ready SLI Ready Black Power Supply ULT31848 in Canada at TigerDirect.ca

The power supply is the Ultra / X-Finity / 600-Watt / ATX / Dual 80mm Fan / SATA-Ready / SLI Ready / Black / Power Supply

the required specs for the card are:

# 1GB of system memory
# CD-ROM drive
# 50MB of available hard disk drive space for basic driver installation
# Microsoft Windows XP operating system
# PCI Express-compliant motherboard with one vacant PCI Express x16 slot
# 450W PCI Express-compliant system power supply with a combined 12V current rating of 30A or more

Much help would be appreciated!
__________________

darkstrykerz is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 02:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Powersupply problem...

If you only changed the grafix card and kept all the other specs the same, then it should still be able to run the system. The 8800GT is less power hungry than the GX2.
__________________

__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 02:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Powersupply problem...

There are better power supplies, and you don't need 600 Watts.

Refer to the power supply guide linked in SIgnature..
Ste is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 02:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Powersupply problem...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaanish View Post
If you only changed the grafix card and kept all the other specs the same, then it should still be able to run the system. The 8800GT is less power hungry than the GX2.
Yeah but I read on the GX2 that it required a min 400 Watt computer, dell was just being cheap when they made my computer...
darkstrykerz is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 02:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Powersupply problem...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
There are better power supplies, and you don't need 600 Watts.

Refer to the power supply guide linked in SIgnature..
Well I am real noob when it comes to upgrading comps, but what do you think I should specifically go with, this site seems heavy ultra based for power supplies...
darkstrykerz is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 02:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: Powersupply problem...

Corsair 520HX gets my vote

edit, seen you're ordering from Canada XD here's a link to the cheapest one i found. NCIX stocks it but its like 115 or 125$. tigerdirect is good, i get some parts from there, but they're selection can leave a bit to be desired. Same goes for directcanada but they usually carry different things so it balances out if you check both. NCIX carries almost everything but they're a bit more expensive.

Buy - DirectCanada
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 03:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Powersupply problem...

does it have more than 30 amp on the 12+V rail?
darkstrykerz is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 03:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: Powersupply problem...

it has 54A on 3 12v rails.

plenty of power. I'll be running an OC'd ultra, quad, watercooling off my 520hx
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 03:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Powersupply problem...

My other issue is that its a dell dimension 9200...
I took some pictures to some the configuration.




Do you think I'd be able to get that power supply in there?
darkstrykerz is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 03:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: Powersupply problem...

grm corsair does look a bit longer than that one. but i can't see it Not fitting. I don't think you'd have any problems.
You may want a 2nd Opinion if Ste's around.
__________________

__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with 3D graphics mordi05 Microsoft Windows and Software 6 12-10-2007 11:37 PM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
Media Library (I Presume) Problem. Nadegas Microsoft Windows and Software 4 06-08-2007 08:27 AM
cant find the problem... Jhill1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 05-07-2007 04:51 PM
Chronic Rebooting Problem AND_YOU_ARE Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-24-2007 06:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.