Which Powersupply is better? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2007, 09:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Which Powersupply is better?

I'm lookign for a new PSU, and Vernong said its better to have a psu with more amps on 1 12v rail, instead of 2 smaller 12v rails. So here's the two that I'm considering getting.

Ultra X-Connect 500-Watt ATX Dual 80mm Fan Blue Modular Power Supply ULT33154 at TigerDirect.com

Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER eXtreme Power RP-600-PCAR ATX from factor 12V V2.01 600W Power Supply 115/230 V Safety Nemko, TUV, cUL, CE, BSMI, FCC, CCC - Retail

the first one has 28A on the +12v rail, but the second one has two +12V rials with 18A each. Also the coolermaster one has 100 more watts, but which one should i get?
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 10:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
ShaolinDreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 457
Default Re: Which Powersupply is better?

neither, i say this one or the 520 version.

Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-450VX ATX12V V2.2 450W Power Supply 90 - 264 V UL, CUL, CE, CB, FCC Class B, TUV, CCC, C-tick - Retail
__________________

__________________
Gaming Rig
Intel Core 2 E6600 @ 3Ghz -Upgrade- Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro 25C/35C
Asus P5N-D Nforce 750i 1333FSB
Crucial Ballistix 2x1GB DDR2 800MHz -Upgrade- Crucial Ballistix Tracer RED 2x2GB 800Mhz
2x SataII, 2x IDE Total = 1.1Tb
EVGA 8800GTS 512mb 'Crysis Edition' @ 750/1900/2000
Onboard Realtek 8.1 Sound Jazzy!
Hiper Type-R 580w -Upgrade- Gigabyte ODIN GT 800W
Modded iCute -Upgrade- Antec 900
19" Iiyama CRT -NEXT Upgrade!- Samsung SM-T260HD 26" w/ Digital TV Tuner / Samsung SM-T240 24"

3DMark06 Score- 13k :)
ShaolinDreams is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 10:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
PRVRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
Posts: 379
Default Re: Which Powersupply is better?

I prefer this one. You get what you pay for and it is always good to have more power than you need. You have no idea what you will do in the future to your rig. I run the 1000 watt and love it. Modular cables are also very nice. Also, being energy efficient is always a good idea.

Ultra X3 ULT40073 600-Watt Power Supply - ATX, SATA-Ready, PCI-E Ready, Energy Efficient, Modular at TigerDirect.com
__________________
PRVRT is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 11:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Re: Which Powersupply is better?

Quote:
Originally Posted by prvrt View Post
I prefer this one. You get what you pay for and it is always good to have more power than you need. You have no idea what you will do in the future to your rig. I run the 1000 watt and love it. Modular cables are also very nice. Also, being energy efficient is always a good idea.

Ultra X3 ULT40073 600-Watt Power Supply - ATX, SATA-Ready, PCI-E Ready, Energy Efficient, Modular at TigerDirect.com
iono man, if i was going to drop $130+ on a new PSU, i might as well get the corsair 520hx.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 11:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 482
Default Re: Which Powersupply is better?

Corsair is an excellent brand, i have the 620. Only thing is, is the 520 modular?
__________________

Sig by Nosboost300
Prophet is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 11:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
PRVRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
Posts: 379
Default Re: Which Powersupply is better?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prophet View Post
Corsair is an excellent brand, i have the 620. Only thing is, is the 520 modular?
520 is Semi-modular. Not a bad PSU by any means.
Also, 520 has 3-12v rails which is the opposite of what Big was looking for. That is why I mentioned the Ultra.
__________________
PRVRT is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 11:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Re: Which Powersupply is better?

I'm just saying what Vernong said, either type of PSU is cool with me. I wanted to spend under $50 bucks though. The first cooler master PSU that i linked is $50 w/ a $40 mail in rebate at my computer store, so it would only come out to $10 bucks. That's why I was interested in that one first.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 11:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 482
Default Re: Which Powersupply is better?

yeah but you get what you pay for mate, i wouldnt skimp on a PSU
__________________

Sig by Nosboost300
Prophet is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 11:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Re: Which Powersupply is better?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prophet View Post
yeah but you get what you pay for mate, i wouldnt skimp on a PSU
people always say that but right now im running a 380watt raidmax cheap PSU, and I have ran it in three different systems over the past year and a half, and it has never failed me. Always stable and always working. Even in this system right now with my high end CPU, and ram. Once i get an 8800gt though I'm going to have to change PSU that's why im looking for a new psu right now because i might get an 8800gt for Christmas.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 12:31 AM   #10 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: Which Powersupply is better?

well, components may be able to run underpowered, but your computer will run quite sluggishly, I'm sure if you replace that psu you have no, you'll noticed an increase in performance, plus you risk damaging your components too
__________________

__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Could this be my powersupply? BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL New Systems | Building and Buying 7 12-06-2007 04:15 PM
Would this powersupply work for my next build Monkey New Systems | Building and Buying 5 11-21-2007 11:31 AM
pc shuts down jayder Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 10-15-2007 08:26 AM
Powersupply Question? tbsk8er04 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-16-2007 09:07 PM
Somthing wrong with either new Powersupply or RAM hawaiian style Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 07-02-2007 03:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.