Powerhouse in the Making - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2006, 10:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Question Powerhouse in the Making

Hey all,
I'm looking to build a beast of a machine. I've been looking at alienware's Aurora ALX but I'm pretty sure that I can get comprable performace without spending 7-9 grand. Money's not that big of an issue, but I've read several posts that alienware is a rip off and noone likes getting ripped off!

I built my last computer about 5 years ago, but haven't kept up with the technology since. Can someone gimmie a hand figuring out how to put together a cutting edge system?

I'm pretty sure I want:
WinXP 64-bit
Duel Core AMD processor
2 Gig's of duel channel low latency ram
RAID 0 Config
Multiple SLI 3d accelorators (Is there a diminishing return? or does 2 or 4 piggiebacked cards really cook?)
Physics Processor (do these really make a dif?)
7.1 Soundblaster card of some sort (I want to wire it through a reciever)

I dont know what kind of mother board I need.

Any advice would be awsome, thanks guys
__________________

cwiz is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 11:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

winxp 64bit: not good driver support for most things out there. you won't be able to run much. most ppl just use 32bit windows on their 64bit machines.

dual core amd processor: sounds like a great idea! if you want to overclock, the best deal right now is the opteron 165 denmark. if you don't want to overclock then 4400+ or 4800+ will be good enough. if you're TOTALLY loaded, then why not hit up an FX-60 (not very good performance/price ratio..since its very pricey)

ram: 2X1gb is good. if you plan on overclocking look into getting ram that is higher clocked (e.g. ddr500) just incase the ram you pick doesn't overclock.. if you're not gonna OC then just look at timiings.. gskill and ocz are my brands of prefrence. (corsair tends to be overpriced IMO.. but lots of ppl here love em.. )

raid 0 : sure, why not! hehe.. couple of raptors in raid 0. and a big HD for big file storage.

SLI: you get 20-50% increase by paying an extra 100%. waste of money. only if you have a lot of money to blow.. (if you get the fx-60 you'll probably want this too, hehe). top cards now are the 7900gtx from nvidia, and x1900xtx from ati. ati's version of SLI is called crossfire, but since its newer it isn't as efficient... (not like SLI is efficient or anything..)

soundcard: the X-FI is what ppl swear by hear.. by i don't think it has optical out... that would probably be what you should be looking for..


so whats your budget? maybe we can help you out.

i'm not sure if physics cards have been relseased yet...
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 11:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

WHOA! not that its a nice rig, but u got A LOT of money to blow, tell us ur budget, i cant wait to play around with that budget, see what i can get for u.
john3 is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 11:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

I would like to keep it under $4000 as I still want to get a HD plasma and bumpin sound system to use with it. u guys can probably put me on the moon for that much, but lets see.
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 11:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

Wait u mean $4000, is that with the HD Plasma and the sound system, or is that just the Computer it self? WHOA, we bout to rock you biatch.
john3 is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 11:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

i checked out the FX-60, it looks like it's only a couple extra hundred so y not, right?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103608
Is this the right one?
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 12:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

just the computer bro, i'm graduating and just got a job! mech engineering wOOt
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 12:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

Woooh 4k nice.

How about the best cpu out there sounds good eh?
AMD FX-60
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103608 $1000

ASUS A8N-SLI Premium Socket 939 Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131540 $150

Some super fast G.Skill RAM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231032 $180

I like 2 of these over 2 7900 GTX's
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150148 2 for $680

2 of the fastest Hard Drives in RAID
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136012 2 for $550

Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16829102188 $110

Fortron 600 watt power supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104014 $140

COOLER MASTER Stacker 810- This bad boy is huge
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811119092 $160

Now just add some DVD drives and stuff $60

Microsoft Windows XP Media Center Edition
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16832102357 $110

Grand Total: $3080
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 12:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

looks pretty wicked, the biggest problem i was having was finding the right motherboard.

as far as the sound card goes, the Sound Blaster X-FI looks like it just has the headphone jack receptors instead of co-axial... if i'm going to be hooking into a reciever, shouldn't i go RCA to RCA instead of headphone jack to RCA? some of my friends do that and they get the buzz in the background. any comment?
__________________

__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.