Power Supply Wattage? (Newb question) - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2007, 12:54 PM   #41 (permalink)
peterhuang913's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Power Supply Wattage? (Newb question)

Originally Posted by Deady View Post
So I'll be able to play all recent games on max settings or close to max settings?

And a secondary question, which manufacturer should I go with? EVGA? PNY? XFX?
All on max



My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 12:59 PM   #42 (permalink)
True Techie
xXDuskXx's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 220
Default Re: Power Supply Wattage? (Newb question)

evga is teh pwn when it comes to nvidia cards...


the blood drive is a pyramid scheme perpetrated by dracula and his night slaves
xXDuskXx is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 08:12 PM   #43 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 13
Default Re: Power Supply Wattage? (Newb question)

OK, so I got the power supply you suggested, but when I plug it in and try to switch it on, nothing happens. There's a yellow LED light that comes on, but the fan doesnt activate, and when I connect it to the case fans, nothing happens. Am I missing something, or is my unit defective?
Deady is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 12:40 AM   #44 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Power Supply Wattage? (Newb question)

What do you mean by the fan doesn't turn on? The one on the PSU? Have you connected all wires from the PSU to their specified locations?
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 07:50 AM   #45 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 13
Default Re: Power Supply Wattage? (Newb question)

Well, no, that's why I'm asking. I wanted to plug it in just to see if it works, because my computer is still in repair in California. Should the fan on the PSU turn on if its plugged in and switched on? I also tried connecting it to the fans on the case and none of them would turn on either.

Deady is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 10:24 AM
power supply question raverx3m New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-24-2007 09:24 AM
Dell HP-1457F3 power supply moosehead1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-27-2007 04:13 PM
Power Supply Brinson Overclocking and Modding 4 06-13-2007 08:12 AM
Can I use ATX Power supply without -5 volt out jar99 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-12-2007 01:28 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.