Power Supply Wattage? (Newb question) - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2007, 01:12 PM   #31 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Power Supply Wattage? (Newb question)

yeah get the 320mb version tho not the 640
__________________

__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 01:31 PM   #32 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 13
Default Re: Power Supply Wattage? (Newb question)

Thanks for the advice, but I like to at least try to make informed decisions Why exactly would the 320 be OK when I have enough to spend on the 640 and bet set for a few years?
__________________

Deady is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 01:35 PM   #33 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Power Supply Wattage? (Newb question)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deady View Post
Thanks for the advice, but I like to at least try to make informed decisions Why exactly would the 320 be OK when I have enough to spend on the 640 and bet set for a few years?
the extra memory just gives u like 2 more FPS in a game, and thats not worth the extra 200$
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 01:35 PM   #34 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Power Supply Wattage? (Newb question)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deady View Post
Thanks for the advice, but I like to at least try to make informed decisions Why exactly would the 320 be OK when I have enough to spend on the 640 and bet set for a few years?
Just because the 640 has double the memory, doesn't mean double the performance. Reviews have shown, that it barely has an advantage to the 320, when playing under the same resolutions. You're better off saving the extra money, from buying the 320mb, and upgrading to a 9 series later on in the future.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 01:37 PM   #35 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 13
Default Re: Power Supply Wattage? (Newb question)

It's twice as much MB though... wouldn't that help with games that come out a year or so from now? I'm looking for as high performance as I can afford, but if its only 2FPS then bleh, but long term wouldn't it be a better investment?
Deady is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 01:41 PM   #36 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Power Supply Wattage? (Newb question)

No it wouldn't. What resolution, do you plan on playing games at? You can just sell the 320, and get a better card than the 640.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 01:42 PM   #37 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Power Supply Wattage? (Newb question)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deady View Post
It's twice as much MB though... wouldn't that help with games that come out a year or so from now? I'm looking for as high performance as I can afford, but if its only 2FPS then bleh, but long term wouldn't it be a better investment?
well the 9 series will DESTROY new games.... and most of us are considering picking up a 9800gts...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 01:46 PM   #38 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 13
Default Re: Power Supply Wattage? (Newb question)

So I should go with the 320 and wait for a 9 series. OK. Man you guys are awesome, saving me money all over the place

Is there a better card with better performance available? I mean, whats the best card out there for around the same price range as the 640, or is the 320 the best deal and best performance I can get?
Deady is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 01:47 PM   #39 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Power Supply Wattage? (Newb question)

The 8800GTS 320 has currently, the best price/performance ratio.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 01:50 PM   #40 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 13
Default Re: Power Supply Wattage? (Newb question)

So I'll be able to play all recent games on max settings or close to max settings?

And a secondary question, which manufacturer should I go with? EVGA? PNY? XFX?
__________________

Deady is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
power supply question raverx3m New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-24-2007 10:24 AM
Dell HP-1457F3 power supply moosehead1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-27-2007 05:13 PM
Power Supply Brinson Overclocking and Modding 4 06-13-2007 09:12 AM
Can I use ATX Power supply without -5 volt out jar99 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-12-2007 02:28 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.