Power Supply Wattage? (Newb question) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2007, 12:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 13
Default Power Supply Wattage? (Newb question)

Hola,

Right now I have an SLI motherboard with 2x 7600GS cards. I am upgrading my system to a new motherboard and I'm going to replace my cards for a single 8800GTS. Question is, is that my power supply is a 420w standard and I doubt that it'll cut it for the 8800GTS. whats the lowest wattage I could safely go for with that card? Keep in mind i DO NOT want to SLI it at this time, just one 8800.

Thanks.
__________________

Deady is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 12:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Power Supply Wattage? (Newb question)

It all depends on the number of amps on the +12V rail, not the wattage. What the PSU model number?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 12:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Power Supply Wattage? (Newb question)

the wattage isn't as important as the amperage coming off the 12v rails. Look at the side of the PSU and tell me what the 12v's read.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 12:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Power Supply Wattage? (Newb question)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deady View Post
Hola,

Right now I have an SLI motherboard with 2x 7600GS cards. I am upgrading my system to a new motherboard and I'm going to replace my cards for a single 8800GTS. Question is, is that my power supply is a 420w standard and I doubt that it'll cut it for the 8800GTS. whats the lowest wattage I could safely go for with that card? Keep in mind i DO NOT want to SLI it at this time, just one 8800.

Thanks.
need more info besides ur wattage.. i need like a brand name, model.. amps on the dual 12v... just give the model/name and i'll look it up,
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 12:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Power Supply Wattage? (Newb question)

It's not exactly wattage, that determines how powerful a power supply is, but how many amps it has on it's +12v rails. Can you see your power supply's label, and check how much amps on the +12v rails?

holy cow....we all four posted at the same, about the same thing.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 12:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Power Supply Wattage? (Newb question)

i love how we all said the same thing and didn't notice anyone elses posts hah but yes check the side of the unit
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 12:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Power Supply Wattage? (Newb question)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
i love how we all said the same thing and didn't notice anyone elses posts hah but yes check the side of the unit
i was about to comment on that...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 12:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Power Supply Wattage? (Newb question)

I started it
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 12:22 AM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Power Supply Wattage? (Newb question)

I'm guessing his amps on the +12v rails, are somewhere around 25-28 amps, which is the minimum for an 8800GTS.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 12:24 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 13
Default Re: Power Supply Wattage? (Newb question)

OK, wow...

thanks for the 23897298372 replies in one minute hahaha

Lets say I need a new power supply entirely cause this ones about shot anyway, I had to send my computer in because of heating issues and because the power supply is basically screwed. They're replacing it with the exact same one, but I kind of suspect its a low quality thing and I need a better one. What's the cheapest I could go without risking something to my system?
__________________

Deady is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
power supply question raverx3m New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-24-2007 10:24 AM
Dell HP-1457F3 power supply moosehead1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-27-2007 05:13 PM
Power Supply Brinson Overclocking and Modding 4 06-13-2007 09:12 AM
Can I use ATX Power supply without -5 volt out jar99 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-12-2007 02:28 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.