Which Power Supply wattage - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-16-2008, 07:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 43
Default Which Power Supply wattage

Hello there,

Ok i'm talkin about a server here. I'm no geek and bought a used server for my business and having some hardware issues. I'm highly suspecting the power supply isn't powerful enough. It's an antec 450 watts.

Heres a brief description of whats inside this beast :

Tyan Motherboard with dual AMD processors (dual core) so 4 cores.

1 X Raptor HDD
4 X WesternDigital HDD
(so 5 HD!)

1 cheap video card
1 PCI Raid card

4 or 5 fans (can't remember )

Anyway, can't get more than 20 days of uptime before OS gets Kernel Panic. 2 HDS were unplugged and so far so good... (35 days!!!)

What PSU would you get...

thanks!
__________________

__________________
Core2 Duo E6300
Asus P5B
2 X 1024 MB Kingston DDR2 800mhz
Asus GeForce 7600GT
fadedstar is offline  
Old 11-16-2008, 07:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Which Power Supply wattage

Newegg.com - PC Power & Cooling S61EPS 610W Continuous @ 40°C EPS12V SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies

they don't mess around with their psu's and since this is a server, you are going to want something very reliable. It's also on a massive sale right now!
__________________

__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 11-16-2008, 08:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Which Power Supply wattage

What OS is it running? A kernel panic could be caused by a lot of things and it would be strange to get 20 days uptime and then suddenly get a kernel panic if it is a problem with the PSU. Having said that 450W really isnt much for a machine like this. I ran a very similar machine with dual opteron 270s on a supermicro board also with 5 HDDs on 700W.
The PSU suggested by ferarri is a good one but you will need to check to see what connectors the motherboard takes.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 11-16-2008, 11:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 43
Default Re: Which Power Supply wattage

Yeah I get your point. I'm running this server for 8 months and it's not really reliable. I used to be running a raid 5 out of the 4 Western HD. I was using a Raidcore PCI card to hook all the HD. The OS is ubuntu. Note that the Raid card wasn't supported by OS (recognized as a controller only) so I was actually running a software Raid with OS.

First problems were... Raid keeps dropping HD from time to time. (Like if one drive fail and the spare one gets in). After a reboot... it comes back to life and raid is rebuilding.

So we changed the Raid card for something else. Still doing it except that from time to time, we get kernel panics referring to HDD. That happened about 5 or 6 times in a row every 20 days or so. Manual reboot and everything is fine.

So that's where I am. 2 HDs were unplugged and it seems like it fixed the problem once for all, reinforcing the power supply theory!

Kernel panics are tricky... CPUs aren't overheating, etc.

So hey, i'll get a bigger PSU and we will see I guess.
__________________
Core2 Duo E6300
Asus P5B
2 X 1024 MB Kingston DDR2 800mhz
Asus GeForce 7600GT
fadedstar is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 09:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Which Power Supply wattage

It's good to hear you dropped that raidcore card they dont seem to have much in the way of OS support at all.
Yeah get a bigger PSU because quite frankly even if that is not the problem (I think it is though) you must be sitting right on the edge of its abilities all the time with a machine like that.
It's probably just a period of high load every 20 days (maybe check cron) which is pushing it over the edge.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Power supply Guide (2008) Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 223 12-12-2009 09:05 PM
Dedicated power supply for a graphics card? wencke530 System Upgrades 13 02-23-2008 07:27 PM
Power Supply Guide Ste Overclocking and Modding 0 02-18-2008 03:18 PM
Help with my PSU! weezerguy187 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 01-27-2008 04:58 PM
power supply question raverx3m New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-24-2007 10:24 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.