power supply questions (again) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2005, 10:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 169
Default power supply questions (again)

ok im looking to buy my next part and ive nailed it down to these two power supplys.

my main questions are that with these 2 models when they say 550 watt do they mean they operate at 550 watts consistantly or 550 watts is their maximum peak?

and does it matter if it has 1 fan or 2?

heres links to the items

http://www0.shopping.com/xPC-Antec_T...Supply_TRUE550

http://www0.shopping.com/xPC-Antec_H...iency_550W_PSU

bear in mind these are the only 2 power supplys i can choose from so please dont say "those 2 are crap get this or this other one is cheaper"

thanks in advance for any help
__________________

__________________
coming soon

x blade case
antec true power 550 watt power supply
amd x2 dual core 4400+
1 gig ddr400 memory
gigabyte 4x dual layer drive
nvidia 7800 gtx 512mb
gigabyte k8n pro sli motherboard
1 western digital 10,000rpm 74gb hard drive
1 western digital 320gb hard drive
devil_warrior is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 10:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

They are both great power supplies, But I would get the Antec True Power 550.

Doesn't really matter how many fans as logn as there is one.

Im not sure of thier peak wattage but they won't dissapoint you.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 10:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 169
Default

so will they be able to run my new computer which is basically my sig
__________________
coming soon

x blade case
antec true power 550 watt power supply
amd x2 dual core 4400+
1 gig ddr400 memory
gigabyte 4x dual layer drive
nvidia 7800 gtx 512mb
gigabyte k8n pro sli motherboard
1 western digital 10,000rpm 74gb hard drive
1 western digital 320gb hard drive
devil_warrior is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 10:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I'd maybe get an OCZ 520W modstream
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 12:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by devil_warrior
so will they be able to run my new computer which is basically my sig
Yes, no problem.
GoodNews101 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.