Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2007, 09:13 PM   #11 (permalink)
M.C. Etcher
 
Grievearz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 321
Send a message via AIM to Grievearz
Default Re: Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question

Q6600 (G0) @ 3.3Ghz in a 900 with a ZALMAN CNPS9500 (Paste hasn't fully cured yet)

Right now at idle I'm at (47, 40, 47, 46) *One of my cores is ALWAYS 4-6 degrees colder than the other 3, but it's not always the same one.

At load it can get up to 65~

This seems pretty hot to me and I'm not sure why it's so hot.
__________________

Grievearz is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 09:19 PM   #12 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question

Which thermal paste are you using? Another reason it could be running a little warm, is the heatsink you have. The CNPS9500 is sufficient enough, but not really enough for heavy overclocking. But 65C is ok for the G0.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 09:21 PM   #13 (permalink)
M.C. Etcher
 
Grievearz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 321
Send a message via AIM to Grievearz
Default Re: Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question

I'm using AS5. I think I may have used too much. I put quite a lot on there and spread it around using an old gift card. I doubt that would account for more than 3-4 degrees. I'm going to attempt your voltage settings now, I'll let you know how it turns out.

Can anyone recommend a good PSU that has connections similar to the ones on the PSU I posted on my OP?
Grievearz is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 09:24 PM   #14 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question

Newegg.com - HIPER HPU-4K580-MS ATX12V v2.2 580W Power Supply 100 - 120V - Retail

I think that should be enough, to power your system. I have the same power supply, and it has served me very well.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 09:45 PM   #15 (permalink)
M.C. Etcher
 
Grievearz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 321
Send a message via AIM to Grievearz
Default Re: Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question

Even with those voltage settings the system is not booting with 533x6 and 2.00 Memory. I watched inside the case and everything but the moving LEDs on the RAM lit up before it restarted.

I've changed it to 400x8 and 2.50 giving me a 4:5 ratio, I guess that's good enough. I still don't quite understand why it's not booting with 533x6.

With the system at 400x8 I'm getting (44, 43, 44, 37) *Now it's core 4 thats undertemp. Any explanation as to why one of my cores is always so much cooler?

-----------

That PSU you recommended is actually less expensive than the one I was looking at. Has anyone even heard of XION before? I prefer the looks of the Xion one but if it's garbage I'll get the one b1gapl recommended.

Side-note - Is there anyway to run tests on a PSU after you buy it to see if it's crap or not?
Grievearz is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 09:47 PM   #16 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question

HIPER is a very good company. Quite a few of us, use the brand. XION is only known for it's cases, but it's line of power supplies, is not to be trusted.

It may be not posting at 533 FSB, because it is very high. Sure the DQ6, is nice overclocker, but you gotta play around some more.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 09:54 PM   #17 (permalink)
M.C. Etcher
 
Grievearz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 321
Send a message via AIM to Grievearz
Default Re: Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question

Thanks for all the help b1gapl! It's much appreciated.
Grievearz is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 12:28 AM   #18 (permalink)
M.C. Etcher
 
Grievearz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 321
Send a message via AIM to Grievearz
Default Re: Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question

I tried setting manual voltage like those that you recomended and even at low overclocks the system is unstable. I set it back to auto and it's rock solid. Voltages are pretty much exactly the same. The PSU I'm using is pretty old from back before I knew better (It's super cheep). I'm thinking that could be the issue. I'm ordering that new one you recommended once I get my next check.

So the question is could it be just the PSU or should I keep bumping the voltages up?
Grievearz is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 12:43 AM   #19 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question

I believe running the FSB at 533MHz, does require some more voltage. The PSU being cheap, is a factor too.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 12:50 AM   #20 (permalink)
M.C. Etcher
 
Grievearz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 321
Send a message via AIM to Grievearz
Default Re: Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question

This was at a much lower FSB: 400 (x8). Even with voltage settings over what you recommended it would crash and was unstable. It wouldn't even boot with 533 FSB.
__________________

Grievearz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Echo Star 600W 20+4 Pin ATX Power Supply commandercup New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-04-2007 07:21 PM
Power Supply Wattage? (Newb question) Deady New Systems | Building and Buying 44 08-16-2007 08:50 AM
power supply question raverx3m New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-24-2007 10:24 AM
Power Supply Brinson Overclocking and Modding 4 06-13-2007 09:12 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.