power Supply question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2006, 03:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 66
Question power Supply question

right now i have the psu that came with my case its 430watt. it has a 20 pin plud and my mother board has a 24 pin but iv been using it with no problems but theres only 4 of the plugs that go into the harddrive/cd drives and right now there all used and i need 1 more. if i get a higher watt supply will it come with more of thoes 4pin plugs. also should how many watts should i get?

thanks jeff
__________________

jeff34 is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 03:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

A higher wattage doesn't mean you'll have more molex connecters. Just read the specs of the PSU before you buy it, and it will tell you how many molex connecters it has.

450 - 500watt is probally sufficient.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 03:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 66
Default

ok thanks i wasent shure what they where called to
jeff34 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.