power supply question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2007, 08:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default power supply question

ok so after about 6 months of use my antec truepower 400w supply ate sht. i totally forgot about warranty adn took it apart to find 3or 4 caps are pretty much toasted and it makes hi pitch noise when its on.
also for some reason it will power up on itsself about 2 minutes after i shut down my pc.

accordint to numerous psu calculators i only need 340w power to run everything i have.
about 80% of time i have winamp on and maybe 5-10 IE windows open and maybe photoshop or whatever.

also my mobo is kinda crippled from the time i upgraded bios to latest version it lost cpu voltage controls and half of system fans so i donno wtf happened.

i ve looked over few threads here about power supply and been browsing thru newegg for days tryin to pick one.
tops im lookin to spend on is is 80 dollars
modular if possible
with 4sata power connectors
and enough amps to drive the pci-e EVGA 6600GT 128mb ddr3 video card
i looked allover but couldnt find the power requirements for it
according to newegg the 6800gt needs 18 or 19 amps not sure how much of a difference is between those

any suggestions?
im not lookn for anythin fancy
just want a psu that will last longer than 1 year or at least past warranty.
i ve seen so many people complain about antec psu dyin after 6 months that i totally lost respect for them.

something like that would do i think
Newegg.com - FSP Group (Fortron Source) Blue Storm II 500 ATX 2.2V 500W Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CSA, VDE, NEMKO, CNS, CE, CB, FCC - Retail
__________________

__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 08:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: power supply question

Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX ATX12V v2.2 and EPS12V 2.91 520W Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CUL, CE, CB, FCC Class B, TUV, CCC, C-tick - Retail

this is worth the extra money
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 08:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: power supply question

I'm glad, you're not skimping on the PSU, price wise. For just about $3 more than the FSP, you can get a power supply with more power and more amps:
Newegg.com - XCLIO GREATPOWER X14S4P3 550W ATX12V 550W Power Supply 100-240V / 200-240V UL, CUL, TUV, CB, VDE, FIMKO, DEMKO, NEMKO, SEMKO - Retail
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 08:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default Re: power supply question

6600GT is around 45watts of power, about 15 amps on the +12 rail. Sooo..

Id get this one in your case, its out of stock but should be in around the 27th.

Newegg.com - XCLIO GREATPOWER X14S4P3 550W ATX12V 550W Power Supply 100-240V / 200-240V UL, CUL, TUV, CB, VDE, FIMKO, DEMKO, NEMKO, SEMKO - Retail



bigapple beat me to it.
__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 08:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: power supply question

You can either go with peterhuang913 or b1gapl's suggestion. Both are very good PSU's.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 12:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default Re: power supply question

but do i really need more than 500? i mean from what i understand they are more efficient when theyr runnin at at least 70% of the max load so if i get 550 and i only use like 300 watts for every day operations wouldnt that be a waste of power?
plus the latest game i play on this pc is tron 2 or possibly quake 4 thats it
i mostly use it as jukebox some winamp visuals maybe and movies
this pc is probably gonna get another sata drive and maybe a soundcard but thats it for upgrades if im gonna upgrade serious ill replace mobo memory processor and pretty much everything except HD and cdroms so...
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 12:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: power supply question

It won't be a waste of power, because the power supply, will only supply the power you're using. So if you're using up 300w, the power supply will not supply all of 550, but just the 300 that you need.

It's also good for future upgrades, since you will be upgrading quite a lot, later on.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 12:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default Re: power supply question

so what they mean by psu efficiency?
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 12:58 AM   #9 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: power supply question

The higher efficiency the better. If a gfx card needs 100w of power: 65% efficiency = 154w drawn from the outlet but 80% efficiency = 125w drawn from the wall. This means that less heat is produced and less power is wasted when the PSU converts voltages.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 01:14 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 616
Send a message via AIM to OnlyCurious Send a message via Yahoo to OnlyCurious
Default Re: power supply question

Just received my xclio 550w that a few people already suggested. Came from Newegg, packed nicely, and the manufacturer's box is really nice too... LOL. It's really heavy.... and from what I've heard, heavier the PSU the better.
__________________

__________________
Use my advice at your own risk.

My rig:
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
SamSung 20" LCD
Intel E6750 @ 2.66Ghz
Gigabyte p35-ds3r
Patriot Extreme 2gb 4-4-4-12
Sapphire X1950XT 256mb
Samsung 500gb @ 7200
PSU Xclio GreatPower 550W
Samsung DVD Burner
Logitec X-230 2.1
OnlyCurious is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Installed new power supply PC still not turning on helix2301 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 06-30-2007 01:43 PM
Dell HP-1457F3 power supply moosehead1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-27-2007 05:13 PM
Power Supply Brinson Overclocking and Modding 4 06-13-2007 09:12 AM
Can I use ATX Power supply without -5 volt out jar99 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-12-2007 02:28 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.