power supply question. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2006, 01:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default power supply question.

i have an Ultra x-connect 500w powersupply. but its only 20pin. it has modular cable support. the output (i guess i could call it that) on the powersupply is 20pin. is there any way that i could convert the 20pin to a 24pin, without the converter.

i'm sorry if that was confusing.
__________________

j12 is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 01:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

im pretty sure ther's a connector you can put on the end of 20pin cables to make them 24pin, but dont quote me on that.
__________________

MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 01:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MrZucchiniHead
im pretty sure ther's a connector you can put on the end of 20pin cables to make them 24pin, but dont quote me on that.
Yea, I think hes aware of it, but doesn't want it.


No, not really unless you feel like modding your PSU which is dangerious. Probably spelled that wrong...
Ste is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 01:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default Re: power supply question.

Quote:
Originally posted by j369852147412
without the converter.
Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
Yea, I think hes aware of it, but doesn't want it.
oh, thats where i stopeed reading

yeah, no way of doing that unless you mod it. or is there a way you can take a 24pin wire from another modular PSU and put it on yours?
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 02:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

see with the converter you plug 20pin into the converter and the output is 24pin. i would like the actual power cable to be the converter itself.
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 02:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16812101121

this would be the converter.
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 04:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

whats wrong with just using the converter?

the only way you would be able to is ti mod your PSU by taking off the 20pin and soldering o na 24pin connector. or, im not sure if it's possible, but take a 24pin from another modular PSU and put it on yours.
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 05:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

" Is there any way that i could convert the 20pin to a 24pin, without the converter. "

convert without a converter? lol funny. I think I know what your thinking, you want to buy a 24 pin connector then pull the pins out of the 20 and jam them in the 24 pin correct? Yeah but you would have to cut and splice, or use a wire to jump some voltages.

All that is no simple task, and if you can't figure out how to do it on your own, I'm certainly not going to help you destroy your computer. Some motherboards are compatable with 20 or 24 pin power supplys, read your manual for compatability informaton.
Sui is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 07:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

see the think i dont like about the conveter is the extra wire. if i do shorten the converter that will be 24 pins that i have to cut and reconnect again. but i'm not gonna try to jump voltages.
__________________

__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.