Power supply to power 10+ HDs? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2008, 02:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Question Power supply to power 10+ HDs?

Hello,

My question is what Power supply would you recommend for housing 10 HDs? My current Power supply is a Xclio 460 Watt Power Supply which has been working well with 7 HDs however I am unsure how long the stability will last. So my question is to ensure future performance and stability what power supply would you recommend that can power as much as 12 HD with little or no fluctuation.

Thanks!

(current specs are below)

AMD 64 X2 Dual Core 3800+

2 GB of RAM

Xclio 460 Watt Power Supply

Current # of HDs: 7 (total so far a little over 3 TB)

X700 ATI video Card
__________________

SeverBuilding is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 02:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hickfarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 357
Send a message via AIM to hickfarm Send a message via MSN to hickfarm
Default Re: Power supply to power 10+ HDs?

i am not for sure, but i would just try and keep using the power supply you are now using. Since the video card isn't using that much power or the cpu.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 5000+ BE Zalman 9700
OCZ 700 watt Power Supply
2x1 gig OCZ 800mhz dual channel ram
Custom John Deere
DFI Infinity NF UlTRAII-M2 motherboard
20" Benq Monitor
320 gig Seagate hard drive, 1000gig internal Western Digital, 500gig MyBook
My John Deere Case==> http://hickfarm.com/blog/?cat=7
hickfarm is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 02:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Power supply to power 10+ HDs?

Id say you were good, but if you wanted to upgrade go for the 520HX.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 02:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Power supply to power 10+ HDs?

i would recommend looking at getting a dedicated power supply for the hdds. unless you are using staggered spinup the hdds will be drawing a lot of current at power on. i'm not too sure of the specific requirements but i would definitely recommend a power supply upgrade.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 06:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Power supply to power 10+ HDs?

I respect nitestick so yes, get a decent 600w+ corsair psu.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 12:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Power supply to power 10+ HDs?

Thanks for the suggestions, I am leaning towards getting Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CE, CB, TUV, FCC, CCC - Power Supplies

My only question is my motherboard strong enough to handle it? Its a KN8 Series(NF-CK804) Gigabyte. I can't seem to find much information on it online but I bought it maybe 2-3 years ago. (i think..)

Thanks again.
SeverBuilding is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 01:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: Power supply to power 10+ HDs?

Just make sure the motherboard has a 24pin main connector.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 01:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: Power supply to power 10+ HDs?

how about the 750TX it has 8 sata power connector's and 8 4pin peripheral connector's

i've got a quick question, why so many hard drive's for what seem's to be little storage space to me, could upgrade to a few 500gb HDD's save power and have more power connector's / space to install a few more HDD's
__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 01:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Power supply to power 10+ HDs?

I was just about to say that ^^^

Ever think of consolidating? You could go the 500GB route, or get 4-750GB HDD's, or even just 3-1TB HDD's. Either way it seems like to run 7 hard drives for 3TB that's an average size of 430GB and you want to add 3 more. Might as well upgrade, right?
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 03:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Power supply to power 10+ HDs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by solidsteve View Post
how about the 750TX it has 8 sata power connector's and 8 4pin peripheral connector's

i've got a quick question, why so many hard drive's for what seem's to be little storage space to me, could upgrade to a few 500gb HDD's save power and have more power connector's / space to install a few more HDD's
What type of Pin set does the 750TX Use?

As far as the question regarding HD space this is my current specs:

True, My current Machine Has the following:

1x 37.2 GB HD
2x 320 GB HD
1x 500 GB HD
3x 750 GB HD

Later on today I will be buying a Western digital 1 TB and plan to replace the 37.2 GB HD with it. Only reason the 37.2 GB has lasted as long as it has (meaning not been replaced) is mainly because thats what currently the HD that i installed my OS to and I have been lazy to transfer everything i want to keep to another HD heh. Also as a side note, my current power supply didn't have enough cables so I had to get one of those expansion cards. BTW for those curious my case is a RocketFish (I highly recommend this case to all, great price too)
__________________

SeverBuilding is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Power supply Guide (2008) Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 223 12-12-2009 09:05 PM
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Power Supply Guide Ste Overclocking and Modding 0 02-18-2008 03:18 PM
Help with my PSU! weezerguy187 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 01-27-2008 04:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.