Power supply and PC performance?? is there a link?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2007, 09:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 100
Default Power supply and PC performance?? is there a link??

Hi, simple question for all you seasoned techies out there.

If i had lets say...a 400W no brand name powering my rig with no problems and stable...

will upgrading to a...500w enermax increase the performance of my components in anyway?
thanks!
__________________

enthusiast1917 is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 11:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Power supply and PC performance?? is there a link??

depends what your components are in the long run your parts will have a longer life thats for sure
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 11:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Power supply and PC performance?? is there a link??

the watts have nothing to do with how well your parts perform if your not over 400 watts, but ya go with a decent brand name and save yourself the trouble of PSU issues
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 11:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Power supply and PC performance?? is there a link??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Invisible View Post
the watts have nothing to do with how well your parts perform if your not over 400 watts, but ya go with a decent brand name and save yourself the trouble of PSU issues
yep look a the updated power supply guide in the Tutorial section for good PSU's
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 12:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Power supply and PC performance?? is there a link??

if you think you will get an increase in frames per second etc then the answer is no, but as said your parts will last longer and the psu will be much more stable and supply a stronger currant.
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 12:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Power supply and PC performance?? is there a link??

what determines the fps is ur GPU and CPU, and the game with game settings....
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 01:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Custom User Title
 
decibaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 341
Default Re: Power supply and PC performance?? is there a link??

actually.... [deleted my stupid comment even before editing because I am Tom Park (Korean)]

yea psu doesn't impact gaming performance directly

HII B1GAPL!!!
__________________

decibaL is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 03:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Power supply and PC performance?? is there a link??

Quote:
Originally Posted by decibaL View Post
actually.... [deleted my stupid comment even before editing because I am Tom Park (Korean)]

yea psu doesn't impact gaming performance directly

HII B1GAPL!!!
all it does determine if ur things work........
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 07:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 100
Default Re: Power supply and PC performance?? is there a link??

i see. thanks for all your comments.

as a side note, for the user Invisible...is your pentium 4 3.0ghz a dual core? how did u get a pentium 4 3.0ghz + a 8800 in the same system? soz for the newbieness, but ive never heard of a pentium 4 3.0ghz +PCIE motherboard.
enthusiast1917 is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 07:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Power supply and PC performance?? is there a link??

Quote:
Originally Posted by enthusiast1917 View Post
i see. thanks for all your comments.

as a side note, for the user Invisible...is your pentium 4 3.0ghz a dual core? how did u get a pentium 4 3.0ghz + a 8800 in the same system? soz for the newbieness, but ive never heard of a pentium 4 3.0ghz +PCIE motherboard.
Um Pentium 4's are LGA 775 well at the least the newer chips are....
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installed new power supply PC still not turning on helix2301 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 06-30-2007 01:43 PM
Dell HP-1457F3 power supply moosehead1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-27-2007 05:13 PM
Power Supply Brinson Overclocking and Modding 4 06-13-2007 09:12 AM
7 VSB from power supply?? GregJ Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-14-2007 11:36 AM
Can I use ATX Power supply without -5 volt out jar99 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-12-2007 02:28 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.