Power supply for new build? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2013, 07:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 14
Default Power supply for new build?

Hi, I haven't posted here for quite some time but I was hoping to get some feedback on a new build I am making for a friend.

Here's what I'm looking at.

CPU: AMD FX-6300 Vishera 3.5GHz
MOBO: ASUS M5A97
GPU: Radeon HD 7870 GHz Edition 2GB
MEMORY: G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB DDRM 1866

How does the build itself seem?
I'm wondering what the proper PSU should be used. My friend is hoping to use a 450w PSU, but I'm not sure if it will suffice.

He's looking at about a $500-$550 budget.

I would love any feedback!
__________________

Magicadam123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 07:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: Power supply for new build?

You'll need a minimum of 550w or this Seasonic 520w.
SeaSonic M12II 520 Bronze 520W ATX12V v2.3 / EPS 12V v2.91 SLI Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply - Newegg.com
CORSAIR CX600M 600W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply - Newegg.com

Is the board used? Because that board has been discontinued off Newegg.

You can also drop the 1866 RAM to 1600, you don't need any faster.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 12:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 14
Default Re: Power supply for new build?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Is the board used? Because that board has been discontinued off Newegg.

You can also drop the 1866 RAM to 1600, you don't need any faster.
Thanks for the information about the PSU!

This is the board I was talking about on Newegg. ASUS M5A97 R2.0 AM3+ AMD 970 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard with UEFI BIOS - Newegg.com

I will drop down to the 1600 RAM as well, thanks!
Magicadam123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 01:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: Power supply for new build?

Ah, rev 2.0. Google didn't bring that up.

You could spare some cash for the PSU by getting this instead.
Newegg.com - ASRock 970 PRO3 R2.0 AM3+ AMD 970 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard with UEFI BIOS
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 02:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 14
Default Re: Power supply for new build?

Thank you for your help!

I just have one more question.

My friend has a Gateway DX series DX4300-01 computer now. He wants to strip the tower and use the case to build this new computer with. Is this possible with the new motherboard (ASRock 970) for this build?

Or are we going to have to get a new case? If so, do you have any good affordable suggestions?
Magicadam123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 03:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: Power supply for new build?

To give you a precise answer, that case will work with aftermarket parts BUT you need an mATX board rather than a standard ATX board.

Now my personal opinion is, I would not reuse that case as it's tiny and has little airflow that's needed for the newer parts you are putting in there. You also have no room for cable management.
Good place to start is something real cheap like a Thermaltake V3, or a Corsair 200r. Both of those cases can take a standard ATX board like we've mentioned.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.