Power Supply Blew Up - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2009, 01:49 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Power Supply Blew Up

I am just assuming it is the power supply....I guess it could be the mobo....I hope it is just the power supply.
__________________

__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 03:00 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 283
Default Re: Power Supply Blew Up

Too bad you don't have a spare power supply lying around to test.
__________________

darsunt is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 03:23 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Power Supply Blew Up

Most likely it's the PSU, if the mobo was the problem, it would still possibly start up.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 08:54 PM   #14 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Power Supply Blew Up

I witnessed a Zalman PSU Quit today... Right out of the box..

I was at the local tech shop picking up my GB MoBo, they hooked it up to show me that it posts and as soon as he turned it on it quit. Switched PSU's to an identical one and my board posted.

Just thought I'd share.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 09:25 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Power Supply Blew Up

Have you had a look through your computer to check the cables and whatnot, once one of my power cables came out because of the tight fit through cable management, luckily i think the computer was off when it actually disconnected because it never shut down on me just wouldn't power on. It does sound like a psu issue though, just hope it's not an issue where it takes a long time to figure out.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 08:59 AM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Power Supply Blew Up

I have checked the cables to make sure that they were not loose.

I will know in a day or two.

I am just thinking power supply, because the pc makes no noise, no lights...absolutely nothing.
__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 09:10 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Power Supply Blew Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tenenbaum View Post
Well, if its the cables from the power supply, then it is the power supply.
If it's the cables, then a soldering iron can fix that.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 11:50 AM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Power Supply Blew Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antec-User View Post
I witnessed a Zalman PSU Quit today... Right out of the box..

I was at the local tech shop picking up my GB MoBo, they hooked it up to show me that it posts and as soon as he turned it on it quit. Switched PSU's to an identical one and my board posted.

Just thought I'd share.
that dosent sound good, cause i have a 750w zalman PSU. it's been running strong since the day i got it. got my q9300 up to 4ghz on it hope mine dont die.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 12:56 PM   #19 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Power Supply Blew Up

^ It was a 650w. Yeah, that always makes one nervous hearing about witnessing a loss first hand.

But at least you'll know.. I thought my PSU went back when I had my M3A32 Mobo with a Rosewill 650w PSU... I bought all new supplies, and took my 650 out and put it down.. I blew a number of holes in it for target practice with my Springfield XD45 ACP. Turns out the BOARD was bad.. So I shot up a perfectly good PSU.. I dunno.. Maybe the PSU went out, we'll never know.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 07:14 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: Power Supply Blew Up

I invested in a thermalright psu tester for 10bucks. Best money ever spent IMO
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by weelilmatt View Post
I need a good gaming desktop that can run 5 instances of World of Warcraft w/o much lag, if any...

I'm not computer savvy.. so i need help! pleasee!! I just need it to be under $1000, just the desktop no mouse/keyboard/monitor
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Power supply Guide (2008) Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 223 12-12-2009 09:05 PM
I want a new video card. Silverfury New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-09-2008 01:05 AM
Dedicated power supply for a graphics card? wencke530 System Upgrades 13 02-23-2008 07:27 PM
Help with my PSU! weezerguy187 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 01-27-2008 04:58 PM
power supply question raverx3m New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-24-2007 10:24 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.