power supply??? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2007, 03:52 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 263
Default Re: power supply???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
EDIT: I don't like the OCZ. Way too high of a Ripple on such an expensive unit.
Can you explain more about the Ripple you refer to. I think I understand but not quite positive.
__________________

Bot2011 is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 03:53 PM   #12 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: power supply???

Newegg.com - FSP Group (Fortron Source) FX600-GLN ATX12V, V2.2/EPS12V, V2.91, 600W RoHS Quad. SLi Power Supply 100 - 240 V CB, CE, CSA, TUV, UL, FCC - Retail
Newegg.com - XCLIO GREATPOWER X14S4P4 600W ATX12V 600W Power Supply 100-240V / 200-240V UL, CUL, TUV, CB, VDE, FIMKO, DEMKO, NEMKO, SEMKO - Retail
Corsair HX Series CMPSU-520HX 520W Power Supply at ZipZoomfly

I would get any one of those if I were you. However the Corsair is the best there.

EDIT: A ripple is a change in voltage on a rail. Higher quality units are expected to have stable 12 volt rails therefore the wattage that the PSU puts out is close to what it is rated. Most high quality units are only about negative 1-3% of 12v at their max load. However the OCZ GameXstream I know are on average negative 4-6% from their 12v rails. Which basically means if your system ever hits close to what the OCZ is SUPPOSED to put on it's 12v rails it may not actually even put out that many watts due to the 12v's becoming weak in power.

This doesn't hurt a system unless it runs very close to the maximum rated wattage on the 12 volts however still on a higher quality unit you except the change in voltage to be minimal so you can be safe. The Corsair PSu's at max load are only on average 1% within the 12v's and actually about +4% around 350w typical us
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 04:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 263
Default Re: power supply???

Okay I was on track. I think of it as voltage fluctuation but the "Ripple" threw me off for a bit.

Guess the question would be is the 520w Corsair going to be enough to power for this system given that it is going to be heavily OC? Wouldn't it be a safe bet to go closer to the 600-700w range to ensure they have enough overhead for upgrading?
Bot2011 is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 04:42 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default Re: power supply???

My 80$ OCZ psu can BARELY carry my Oced parts, 5 fans, and my 7950 gx2. Don't be too thrifty when youre buying your PSU. They can fry your system.
andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 04:46 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default Re: power supply???

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewsvalesen View Post
My 80$ OCZ psu can BARELY carry my Oced parts, 5 fans, and my 7950 gx2. Don't be too thrifty when youre buying your PSU. They can fry your system.
Thats no surprise, a gx2 uses a ton of power.
__________________
Bedroom Rig:
HP Pavillion Mini Tower Case
Intel Pentium III Coppermine @ 800MHz
Hyundai 128MB PC100 SDRAM @ 3-2-2-5
Vision Tek Xtasy 9200SE PCI 128MB @ 200/400
19GB Quantum Fireball

Don't be jealous!
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 04:53 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 506
Default Re: power supply???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bot2011 View Post
Okay I was on track. I think of it as voltage fluctuation but the "Ripple" threw me off for a bit.

Guess the question would be is the 520w Corsair going to be enough to power for this system given that it is going to be heavily OC? Wouldn't it be a safe bet to go closer to the 600-700w range to ensure they have enough overhead for upgrading?
Hey well youre budget doesn't give you much h3adroom if you really want to OC you should get one of these. But it does go over youre budget its just a suggestion if you don't want to go over you're budget that is you're choice.

Newegg.com - SeaSonic M12 SS-700HM ATX12V / EPS12V 700W Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CE, CB, TUV, FCC - Retail
its's 209 but it wont break the bank like one of the high quality enermax ones.
__________________
Alienware Full Tower Aurora Case
ABIT AV8 1.5 SOCKET 939 K8 MB
Amd X2 4800 socket 939
CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
2x 500gb Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s (running at 1.5 Gb/s)
Radeon® X1950PRO AGP Xtreme Gamer Edition AGP x8
Logitech Z-5500 Digital
Creative SOUND BLASTER X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS 7.1 Channels
VIGOR GAMING CLT-M2A 92mm Thermal Electric CPU Cooler
SeaSonic M12 SS-700HM ATX12V (700 watts)
Logitech G15
LG Flatron Wide 24in
Razer Copperhead Green (First Edition)
AHS 615 Gaming Headset
Windows Vitsa Ultamite (running at 32-bit)
wolfeyes89 is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 05:19 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: long beach, ca
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to azzyork
Default Re: power supply???

most likly i will be upgrading. more HD more CD/dvd rom drives but other than that im not goin sli its too over rated. i heard the q6600 is power hungry and the extra overclocking im doin, just wanted a good power supply. i may be considering the Corsair 620HX. i want something that i dont have to go back to the store and return because its too weak or something that i have to sell on ebay because i need more money to get a better one for my set up. basically something thatz goin to last for upgrades and is 2 to 3 years proof
azzyork is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 05:30 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: long beach, ca
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to azzyork
Default Re: power supply???

blah!!!
azzyork is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 05:35 PM   #19 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: power supply???

The Corsair 620HX has enough watts to handle SLI 8800GTX's and a C2D so I don't see why it can't handle a single GTX and a quad-core just fine with other things. The amps on the 620HX is tons and thats what video cards and cpu's use.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 05:42 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 506
Default Re: power supply???

Nvidia - corsair Hx620w not enough juice for 8800gtx? - DIY-Street Forums

a lot of people there say its enough.
__________________

__________________
Alienware Full Tower Aurora Case
ABIT AV8 1.5 SOCKET 939 K8 MB
Amd X2 4800 socket 939
CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
2x 500gb Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s (running at 1.5 Gb/s)
Radeon® X1950PRO AGP Xtreme Gamer Edition AGP x8
Logitech Z-5500 Digital
Creative SOUND BLASTER X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS 7.1 Channels
VIGOR GAMING CLT-M2A 92mm Thermal Electric CPU Cooler
SeaSonic M12 SS-700HM ATX12V (700 watts)
Logitech G15
LG Flatron Wide 24in
Razer Copperhead Green (First Edition)
AHS 615 Gaming Headset
Windows Vitsa Ultamite (running at 32-bit)
wolfeyes89 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Supply Brinson Overclocking and Modding 4 06-13-2007 09:12 AM
7 VSB from power supply?? GregJ Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-14-2007 11:36 AM
Can I use ATX Power supply without -5 volt out jar99 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-12-2007 02:28 AM
power AC adapter with PC power supply? samuraiwarrior Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 04-23-2007 12:54 PM
just changed power supply, weird harddrive problem (sata) idrisguitar Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 03-31-2007 11:47 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.